We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Pontnewydd-ar-Wy / Newbridge-on-Wye


Hinchcliffe, J B. 120 views of Builth Wells : Llandrindod Wells, Elan Valley Waterworks, Llanwrtyd Wells, Llangammarch Wells, Newbridge-on-Wye, Rhayader etc. Builth Wells : J.B. Hinchliffe, [1909] 36p

Jones, Patricia A              The use of pupil teachers at Newbridge on Wye school, 1872-1907         Radnorshire Society Transactions   Vol 56  1986         Welsh Journals Online    

Llewelyn, Charles Venables Bart          The Old Wye Bridge at Newbridge-on-Wye      Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 3 1933           Welsh Journals Online

Slater, F M. Newbridge-on-Wye : a brief guide for visitors. [Newbridge-on-Wye] : University of Wales College of Cardiff, 1990. 42p

Church History

  • No entry for this parish as it wasn't created until 1882

Church Records

An ecclesisatical parish formed out of Llanafan Fawr, Breconshire and Llanllyr/Llanyre, Radnorshire in 1882

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1883-1966; Marriages 1883-1982; Burials 1884-1992; Banns 1883-1996
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts - none detailed

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Pontnewydd-ar-Wy / Newbridge-on-Wye which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Pontnewydd-ar-Wy / Newbridge-on-Wye has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


Newbridge-on-Wye War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site

Letter from the Cambrian Steam Bakery, Newbridge-on-Wye, 1915 - on the People's Collection Wales site

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Venables-Llewelyn collection, Llysdinam Estate  1781-1979    "The Llysdinam estate was owned by the Venables family of Llysdinam, Newbridge-on-Wye, Brecknockshire, which descended from Joseph Venables of Llysdinam, who married Elizabeth Davies in 1723. ................."


You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO016580 (Lat/Lon: 52.211370, -3.441596), Pontnewydd-ar-Wy / Newbridge-on-Wye which are provided by:

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Newbridge-on-Wye Parish Records  1873-1882


Pontnewydd-ar-Wy / Newbridge-on-Wye