GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

PONTNEWYDD-AR-WY / NEWBRIDGE-ON-WYE

Bibliography

Hinchcliffe, J B. 120 views of Builth Wells : Llandrindod Wells, Elan Valley Waterworks, Llanwrtyd Wells, Llangammarch Wells, Newbridge-on-Wye, Rhayader etc. Builth Wells : J.B. Hinchliffe, [1909] 36p

Jones, Patricia A              The use of pupil teachers at Newbridge on Wye school, 1872-1907         Radnorshire Society Transactions   Vol 56  1986         Welsh Journals Online    

Llewelyn, Charles Venables Bart          The Old Wye Bridge at Newbridge-on-Wye      Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 3 1933           Welsh Journals Online

Slater, F M. Newbridge-on-Wye : a brief guide for visitors. [Newbridge-on-Wye] : University of Wales College of Cardiff, 1990. 42p

Church History

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Church Records

An ecclesisatical parish formed out of Llanafan Fawr, Breconshire and Llanllyr/Llanyre, Radnorshire in 1882

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

History

Newbridge-on-Wye War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site

Letter from the Cambrian Steam Bakery, Newbridge-on-Wye, 1915 - on the People's Collection Wales site

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Pontnewydd-ar-Wy / Newbridge-on-Wye


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 21 Nov 2013  - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.