Report problems or contribute information
We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.
Eglwys Newydd,Yr / Newchurch
"NEWCHURCH, a parish in the hundred of PAINSCASTLE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 6 1/2 miles (S. W. by W.) from Kington, containing 164 inhabitants. This parish is situated on the small river Arrow, nearly on the confines of Herefordshire, and is intersected by a road leading from Hay to New Radnor.......................The living is a discharged rectory, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £5.6.8., endowed with £ 200 private benefaction, and £200 royal bounty, and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's : a small estate called Catriggin belongs to the rectory. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, .................. The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is £ 86. 7.. " ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of ;
- Newchurch St Mary
- Newchurch Ebenezer Welsh Calvinistic Methodist Chapel
Church of St Mary, Newchurch on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Newchurch Parish (Diocese of St Davids); Statistics; Area 1788 acres; Population 84 males, 69 females, total 153
- Newchurch Parish Church Attendance - morning 25 1 service in English J B Richards, Curate
- Newchurch Chapel, Welsh Calvinistic Methodist Erected 1847 Attendance - morning 47, afternoon 18 scholars John James, Minister
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1708-1981; Marriages 1708-1748, 1755-1811, 1837-1971; Burials 1708-1981; Banns 1825-1981
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Eglwys Newydd,Yr / Newchurch which are provided by:
You can see the administrative areas
in which Eglwys Newydd,Yr / Newchurch has been placed at times in the past.
Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Eglwys Newydd,Yr / Newchurch
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO216507 (Lat/Lon: 52.148964, -3.147261), Eglwys Newydd,Yr / Newchurch which are provided by: