GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

LLANANDRAS / PRESTEIGNE

"PRESTEIGN, otherwise LLANANDRAS, a parish, partly in the hundred of WIGMORE, county of HEREFORD, and partly in the hundred and county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, in which latter it comprises the township of Presteign (including the market and assize town of that name), and the chapelry of Discoed, which separately support their own poor, 8 miles (E. N. E.) from New Radnor, and 152 (W. N. W.) from London; the whole parish contains 3282 inhabitants, there being in that part of it which is in the county of Radnor 1629, of which number, 1513 are in the township of Presteign, which includes the whole of the town, together with an extensive tract of land surrounding it on the east, south, and west. This place, of which the latter name is derived from the dedication of its church to St. Andrew, ...................The town, which is now the chief town in the county of Radnor, is pleasantly situated in the midst of a fertile vale surrounded by hills..................... The market is on Saturday : the principal fairs are now held annually on May 9th and October 13th............This place is a borough by prescription; and there is a crown manor, styled "the Lordship, Manor, and Borough of Presteign," comprising the township of Presteign and the chapelry of Discoed..................The living is a rectory, with the chapelry of Discoed annexed, in the archdeaconry and diocese of Hereford; rated in the king's books at 20, and in the patronage of the Earl of Oxford. .....................There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyan Methodists....................The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor of the township of Presteign amounts to 422. 7., and of the chapelry of Discoed to 17. 7"  ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

A gravestone at Presteigne and its story               Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 13  1943     Welsh Journals Online

Barron, Minna A    Presteigne in late Victorian days               Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 24  1954      Welsh Journals Online  & Vol 25 1955     Welsh Journals Online

Benson, E G. Presteigne church guide. [Presteigne] : [Parish Church of Saint Andrew], 1961. 12p

Bick, David E. The Presteigne coal trials. Archive 2 (1994), p. 27-31

Cole, E J           Court Rolls of Presteigne and Norton            Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 22  1952      Welsh Journals Online

Cole, E J L    Barland, a Domesday Manor ?             Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 31  1961    Welsh Journals Online

Drage, Col.           The Flemish tapestry: Presteign Church             Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 5 1935      Welsh Journals Online

Drage, G    Inscription on headstone at Presteigne churchyard [Burchlate]           Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 8 1938   Welsh Journals Online  

Howse, W H       Presteigne in Domesday            Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 21 1951 Welsh Journals Online  

Howse, W H         Notes on Presteigne Church          Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 22  1952      Welsh Journals Online

Howese, W H        A sale bill of 1814, with new light on the manors around Presteigne       Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 23  1953      Welsh Journals Online

Howse, W H     Presteigne's great fire of 1681            Radnorshire Society Transactions   Vol 25 1955          Welsh Journals Online

Howse, W H    A Presteigne petition of 1669           Radnorshire Society Transactions   Vol 25 1955          Welsh Journals Online  

Howse, W H        Early grant of a weekly market to Presteigne               Radnorshire Society Transactions   Vol 26 1956          Welsh Journals Online  

Howse, W H            Crops grown in the parish of Presteigne in 1620            Radnorshire Society Transactions   Vol 26 1956          Welsh Journals Online  

Howse, W H           Flemish tapestry in Presteigne church              Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 27  1957      Welsh Journals Online

Howse, W H            The Rectory of Presteigne, 1552-1712       Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 27  1957      Welsh Journals Online

Howse, W H             New light on the visit of King Charles to Presteigne in September 1645            Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 29  1959      Welsh Journals Online 

Howse, W H          Finds made in an old house in Presteigne             Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 31  1961    Welsh Journals Online

Laws, Sarah. Impressions of Presteigne : an oral history. Llanelwedd : Menter Powys, 1997. 43p

Leversedge, Cherry. Pictorial Presteigne of bygone days. Presteigne : Cherry Leversedge, [1987] 24p

Milton, David. A Knighton, Lingen, Presteigne, Knighton walk. [Birmingham]: Different Walker Publications, 2002. 54p

Newman, C W               Two churchyard gravestone surveys in Radnorshire              Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 52  1982      Welsh Journals Online

Noble, F         The Identification of Dr John Dee as the author of Harleian MS 473 from its Radnorshire references               Radnorshire Society Transactions   Vol 26 1956          Welsh Journals Online  

Parish of Presteigne, St Mary's Mill           Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 4 1934       Welsh Journals Online

Parker, W K             The Presteigne coal venture           Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 53  1983      Welsh Journals Online

Parris, Patricia           The Shire Hall, Presteigne; some further information            Radnorshire Society Transactions   vol 51 1981          Welsh Journals Online

Parker, Keith. Radnorshire's old county town : a history of Presteigne. Woonton, [Hereford] : Logaston Press, 1997. 246p

Picturesque Presteigne. Presteigne : Presteigne Chamber of Commerce, [195-?] 40p

Powell, A D            The Galliers family of Stapleton Castle                 Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 13  1943     Welsh Journals Online

Presteigne, Llanandras : gateway to Wales : the official guide to the County Town of Radnorshire. Presteigne : Presteigne Chamber of Trade, [1962?] 33p

Price, P D       Descendants of Thomas Price, Combe, Presteigne               Radnorshire Society Transactions  vol. 45  1975   Welsh Journals Online

Remfrey, Paul M. Nine castles of Burford Barony 1048 to 1308 : Byton, Combe, Discoed, Homme, Presteigne, Rochford, Stanage, Stapleton and Tenbury Wells. Worcester : SCS Publishing, 1999. 41p

Rennell, Lord of Rodd            The manors of Rodd, Nash and Little Brampton, near Presteigne; a note on possible Domesday Book identification           Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 14  1944     Welsh Journals Online  

Rennell, Lord of Rodd             Bernoldune and Barland             Radnorshire Society Transactions      vol. 32  1962    Welsh Journals Online

Roberts, Esther. The British School, Hereford Street, Presteigne. Cronicl Powys. No. 24 (1991), p. 4-9

Schmidt, Katherine von          James Barnes of Presteigne              Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 68 1998    Welsh Journals Online

Some early Presteigne documents           Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 22  1952      Welsh Journals Online

Southwood, John. The Meredith family of Presteigne and Kington, 1391-1940. Kington : Kington History Society, 1988. 29p

Business and Commerce Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Church History

Presteigne, St. Andrews. Much of the present building dates from the 14th century although some parts of the walls date from the previous Saxon and Norman churches. Around 1460 the chancel was rebuilt, the Lady Chapel added and the south aisle extended. Three later restorations took place in 1855, 1891 and 1927. Also of interest are the 16th century Flemish tapestry and 14th century font.

PRESTEIGNE, St. Andrew  1889-1891     - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Andrew, Presteigne on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church of St Michael, Discoed on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church of St Mary, Kinnerton on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site. "St Mary's church lies in the middle of Kinnerton a few kilometres to the south of the Lugg Valley and 7km to the west of Presteigne. A chapel of ease with virtually no documented history.........."

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Presteigne Parish consisting of High St and St David St Ward;   Broad St and Hereford St Ward;  and Discoed Township

Church Records

This parish includes several townships in co. Herefordshire

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Disgoed / Discoed - a chapelry in the parish of Presteigne.
CB 1805-12 entered in PR for Presteigne

Description and Travel

Presteigne - on Wikipedia

Gazetteers

History

Presteigne and the Welsh Marches on the History Powys site

The Judge's Lodging Museum, Pretseigne

Presteigne War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Presteigne in 1835, and 1904

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Presteigne Workhouse - on Peter Higginbotham's site

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Social Life and Customs

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Llanandras / Presteigne


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 21 Nov 2013- Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI