GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents &
Search

LLANANDRAS / PRESTEIGNE

Bibliography

Benson, E G. Presteigne church guide. [Presteigne] : [Parish Church of Saint Andrew], 1961. 12p

Bick, David E. The Presteigne coal trials. Archive 2 (1994), p. 27-31

Laws, Sarah. Impressions of Presteigne : an oral history. Llanelwedd : Menter Powys, 1997. 43p

Leversedge, Cherry. Pictorial Presteigne of bygone days. Presteigne : Cherry Leversedge, [1987] 24p

Milton, David. A Knighton, Lingen, Presteigne, Knighton walk. [Birmingham]: Different Walker Publications, 2002. 54p

Parker, Keith. Radnorshire's old county town : a history of Presteigne. Woonton, [Hereford] : Logaston Press, 1997. 246p Picturesque Presteigne. Presteigne : Presteigne Chamber of Commerce, [195-?] 40p

Presteigne, Llanandras : gateway to Wales : the official guide to the County Town of Radnorshire. Presteigne : Presteigne Chamber of Trade, [1962?] 33p

Remfrey, Paul M. Nine castles of Burford Barony 1048 to 1308 : Byton, Combe, Discoed, Homme, Presteigne, Rochford, Stanage, Stapleton and Tenbury Wells. Worcester : SCS Publishing, 1999. 41p

Roberts, Esther. The British School, Hereford Street, Presteigne. Cronicl Powys. No. 24 (1991), p. 4-9

Southwood, John. The Meredith family of Presteigne and Kington, 1391-1940. Kington : Kington History Society, 1988. 29p

Business and Commerce Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Church History

Presteigne, St. Andrews. Much of the present building dates from the 14th century although some parts of the walls date from the previous Saxon and Norman churches. Around 1460 the chancel was rebuilt, the Lady Chapel added and the south aisle extended. Three later restorations took place in 1855, 1891 and 1927. Also of interest are the 16th century Flemish tapestry and 14th century font.

PRESTEIGNE, St. Andrew  1889-1891   - on the Church plans online site

Church of St Andrew, Presteigne on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church of St Michael, Discoed on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church of St Mary, Kinnerton on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site. "St Mary's church lies in the middle of Kinnerton a few kilometres to the south of the Lugg Valley and 7km to the west of Presteigne. A chapel of ease with virtually no documented history.........."

Church Records

This parish includes several townships in co. Herefordshire

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Disgoed / Discoed - a chapelry in the parish of Presteigne.
CB 1805-12 entered in PR for Presteigne

Description and Travel

Presteigne and Norton Town Council

Presteigne - on BBC Wales

Presteigne - on Wikipedia

Gazetteers

History

Presteigne and the Welsh Marches on the History Powys site

The Judge's Lodging Museum, Pretseigne

Presteigne War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Presteigne in 1835, and 1904

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Presteigne Workhouse - on Peter Higginbotham's site

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Social Life and Customs

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Llanandras / Presteigne


Valid HTML 4.0!

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 6 Oct 2007- Gareth Hicks]

Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future. GENUKI is a registered trademark.