We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Rhiwlen / Rhulen

"RULEN (RHULEN), a parochial chapelry in the hundred of COLWYN, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 7 miles (E. by S.) from Builth, containing 119 inhabitants. Its surface is hilly, and its soil for the most part barren, the whole consisting of about five hundred acres of enclosed, and three hundred of unenclosed, land : it is skirted on the west by the river Edwy. In civil matters it forms an independent parish, but is ecclesiastically regarded as a chapelry consolidated with the vicarage of Glascomb, ........... In the king's books it is described as a chapel to Glascomb, of the certified value of £4. 13. 4. The chapel, dedicated to St. David, ..............Ten shillings per annum have been left to the poor by some unknown benefactor. The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is £116.5."( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Morris, S T.         My eccentric kinswoman Eliza Lloyd of Rhulen (1855-1929). Cronicl Powys, No. 34 (April 1995), 21-24.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Rhiwlen / Rhulen area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church of St David, Rhulen on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for St David's Church

Rhulen Parochial Chapelry; Statistics; Area 756 acres; Population 56 males, 58 females, total 114

  • Rhulan Parochial Chapelry (under Glascombe)    Attendance - morning 10            David Vaughan, Curate
  •  
  • Llantider, Primitive Methodists          Erected before 1800       Not a separate building        Attendance - (average) afternoon 20       William Lloyd, Class Leader

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1813-1987; Marriages 1773-1836, 1842-1971; Burials 1813-1988
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW  

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Rhiwlen / Rhulen which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Rhiwlen / Rhulen has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

Rhiwlan War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Rhulen, Radnorshire, deeds 1728-1953      "Cwm Sych (or Tyn yn yr Heol Lase) and Cwmfillo were in the parish of Rhulen, Radnorshire. Charles Jukes (fl. 1897-1953) lived at Cwmfillo"

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO137498 (Lat/Lon: 52.139695, -3.262464), Rhiwlen / Rhulen which are provided by:

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

 

Rhiwlen / Rhulen