GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

RHIWLEN / RHULEN

"RULEN (RHULEN), a parochial chapelry in the hundred of COLWYN, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 7 miles (E. by S.) from Builth, containing 119 inhabitants. Its surface is hilly, and its soil for the most part barren, the whole consisting of about five hundred acres of enclosed, and three hundred of unenclosed, land : it is skirted on the west by the river Edwy. In civil matters it forms an independent parish, but is ecclesiastically regarded as a chapelry consolidated with the vicarage of Glascomb, ........... In the king's books it is described as a chapel to Glascomb, of the certified value of 4. 13. 4. The chapel, dedicated to St. David, ..............Ten shillings per annum have been left to the poor by some unknown benefactor. The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is 116.5."( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Morris, S T.         My eccentric kinswoman Eliza Lloyd of Rhulen (1855-1929). Cronicl Powys, No. 34 (April 1995), 21-24.

Church History

Church of St David, Rhulen on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

See Welsh Chapels and Churches for St David's Church

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Rhulen Parochial Chapelry; Statistics; Area 756 acres; Population 56 males, 58 females, total 114

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

History

Rhiwlan War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site

Land and Property

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

 

Return to top

Rhiwlen / Rhulen


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 21 Nov 2013 - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.