Hide
St Harmon
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"HARMON (ST.), a parish in the hundred of RHAIADR, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 3 miles (N. N. E.) from Rhaiadr, containing 828 inhabitants. This parish, which derives its name from that of the saint to whom its church is dedicated, is pleasantly situated on the river Wye, by which it is separated from the adjacent parish of Cwm-toyddwr, and is about four miles in length, and, across the centre, nearly the same in breadth. ................This place constitutes a prebend in the collegiate church of Brecknock, rated in the king's books at £3. 17. 3 1/2., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The living is a discharged vicarage, in the archdeaconry and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £ 5. 15. 2 1/2., endowed with £ 800 parliamentary grant, and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Garmon, and rebuilt in the year 1823,...............There are places of worship for Anabaptists and Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists ; and Sunday schools, in connexion with the established church and the several dissenting congregations, are supported by subscription. ...............the average annual expenditure for the support of the poor amounts to £326. 4.........."( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Hide
Brown, Roger L. St. Harmon before and after Kilvert. Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 63 1993 Welsh Journals OnlineCourtney, Paul. A native-Welsh mediaeval settlement : excavations at Beili Bedw, St. Harmon, Powys. Bulletin of the Board of Celtic Studies 38 (1991), p. 233-55
Fenn, R W D Who was St Harmon? Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 36 1966 Welsh Journals Online
Fox, Cyril Dyrysgol, St Harmons Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 10 1940 Welsh Journals Online
Pugh, Jonathan Argoed The parish and place names of St Harman Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 4 1934 Welsh Journals Online
Thompson, Tim Agriculture and change in a nineteenth century Radnorshire valley Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 69 1999 Welsh Journals Online
Williams, David H. A faithful vicar of St Harmon: the Reverend Jonah Bowen Evans B.D. Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 71 2001 Welsh Journals Online
Williams, David H. A neglected Radnorshire cleric : the Reverend Jonah Bowen Evans, B.D. ('Cattwg'), Vicar of St. Harmon, 1845-76. Journal of Welsh Religious History 1 (1993), p. 81-111
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. St Harmon Parish consisting of the Townships of Cenarth; Clase and Rhiwrhiad; Statistics; Area 12000 acres; Population 464 males, 394 females, total 858
|
Church of St Harmon, St Harmon on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re
- Bwlch-y-sarnau English Baptist Chapel
- Nantgwyn English Baptist Chapel, near Pant-y-dwr
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1751-1754, 1757-1779, 1821-1865; Marriages 1751-1753, 1758-1971; Burials 1751-1754, 1757-1778, 1813-1889
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Aerial photograph of Beili Bedw deserted settlement, St Harmon, 1998 - on the People's Collection Wales site
- The transcription of the section for St Harmon from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Harmon to another place.
Victorian Powys for schools site - Kilvert of St Harmon
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Title deeds relating to Pencraig, in the parish of St Harmon 1670-1889 "In 1670, the house of Pencraig, St Harmon, Radnorshire, was owned by Arthur Powell. It then passed to Griffith Evans......."
- Penlanole Estate sale particulars 1910 "The Penlanole estate included lands in the parishes of Nantmel, Llanwrthwl, St Harmon and Abbey Cwmhir, Radnorshire."
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of St Harmon in 1866
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SN969746 (Lat/Lon: 52.359325, -3.515024), St Harmon which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Saint Harmon Community Council records 1839-1919