We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Llanddewi-yn-Hwytyn / Whitton

"WHITTON, a parish in the hundred of KEVENLLEECE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (W. N. W.) from Presteign, containing 131 inhabitants. This parish, which is situated on the river Lug, is partly hilly and partly flat : the soil is light, and the inhabitants are principally employed in agriculture,.................The village is situated in a long and narrow valley, and has an air of pleasing seclusion and retirement. The petty sessions for the hundred are held here occasionally. The living is a discharged rectory, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £4. 7. 11., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. David,...............A school was founded in this parish, by Dame Child of Pilleth, who endowed it with lands now producing £ 100 per annum, for the gratuitous instruction of poor children of both parishes, and for apprenticing one child from each parish, to which latter purpose the sum of sixteen guineas from the endowment is annually appropriated. A Sunday school is supported by the minister's wife.  The average annual expenditure for the maintenance of the poor is £ 110. 15........."( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Edwards, E F. The Pughs of Cwm Whitton, Radnor. Cronicl Powys. No. 21 (1989), p. 53-55

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Whitton aprish 1841-1901

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Llanddewi-yn-Hwytyn / Whitton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Church of St David, Whitton on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Whitton Parish; Statistics; Area 1549 acres; Population 71 males, 47 females, total 118

  • Whitton Parish Church        Attendance (average) - morning 50/60         1 service in English                J N Price, Curate
  •  
  • Rossamerch, Whitton, Weslean                   Dwelling house               Attendance - evening 27                William Duggan, Agricultural Labourer, occupier of house

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

  • Baptisms 1600-22, 1625-1986; Marriages 1600-22, 1625-1971; Burials 1600-22, 1625-1986; Banns 1824-1986
    Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.  
    Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW  

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Llanddewi-yn-Hwytyn / Whitton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Llanddewi-yn-Hwytyn / Whitton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO270673 (Lat/Lon: 52.298922, -3.071942), Llanddewi-yn-Hwytyn / Whitton which are provided by:

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

  • Whitton Parish and Community Council Records 1843-1985

 

Llanddewi-yn-Hwytyn / Whitton