GENUKI Home page NeighboursNearby places
Radnorshire Radnorshire   Contents Contents

LLANDDEWI-YN-HWYTYN / WHITTON

"WHITTON, a parish in the hundred of KEVENLLEECE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (W. N. W.) from Presteign, containing 131 inhabitants. This parish, which is situated on the river Lug, is partly hilly and partly flat : the soil is light, and the inhabitants are principally employed in agriculture,.................The village is situated in a long and narrow valley, and has an air of pleasing seclusion and retirement. The petty sessions for the hundred are held here occasionally. The living is a discharged rectory, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at 4. 7. 11., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. David,...............A school was founded in this parish, by Dame Child of Pilleth, who endowed it with lands now producing 100 per annum, for the gratuitous instruction of poor children of both parishes, and for apprenticing one child from each parish, to which latter purpose the sum of sixteen guineas from the endowment is annually appropriated. A Sunday school is supported by the minister's wife.  The average annual expenditure for the maintenance of the poor is 110. 15........."( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)

Bibliography

Edwards, E F. The Pughs of Cwm Whitton, Radnor. Cronicl Powys. No. 21 (1989), p. 53-55

Census

Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Whitton aprish 1841-1901

Church History

Church of St David, Whitton on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site

Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by   I.G   Jones, & D. Williams. UWP,  Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.

Whitton Parish; Statistics; Area 1549 acres; Population 71 males, 47 females, total 118

Church Records

Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers

As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;

Gazetteers

Maps

Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.   Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county

View maps covering the area of this parish and places within its boundaries

Public Records

Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;

 

Return to top

Llanddewi-yn-Hwytyn / Whitton


Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.
[ 21 Nov 2013  - Gareth Hicks]

Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996 to date
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI


Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.