Hide
Lochwinnoch
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"LOCHWINNOCH, town and parish in southwest border of Renfrewshire. ..... The parish contains also the villages of Howwood and Newton-of-Beltrees, measures about 12 miles by 6, and comprises 19,507 acres. ..... The surface is bisected by Castle-Semple Loch, includes a rich valley along the sides of that lake, rises thence very irregularly to the south-eastern and north-western boundaries, and culminates in the north-west in the lofty hill of Mistylaw. Coal, limestone, and sandstone are worked. Chief seats are Castle-Semple, Barr, and Garthland; and chief antiquities are Barr, Elliston, and Auchenbathie castles. A chapel-of-ease is at Howwood, and 5 schools for 597 scholars are in the parish."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
Hide
| Lochwinnoch, Church of Scotland |
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Lochwinnoch parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1718-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1718-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Lochwinnoch to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS345601 (Lat/Lon: 55.805905, -4.642933), Lochwinnoch which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.