GENUKI Home page

Up Cambridgeshire Contents Contents Nearby PlacesNearby Places NeighboursNearby churches



BRINKLEY

"BRINKLEY is a village and parish, 3 miles south from Dullingham station on the Cambridge and Bury branch of the London and North Eastern railway and south-south-west from Newmarket, in the hundred of Radfield, Newmarket union and county court district, rural deanery of Cheveley, archdeaconry and diocese of Ely."

"The soil is boulder clay. The chief crops are wheat, beans, barley and oats. The area is 1,303 acres; the population in 1921 was 242. By an Order which came into operation March 25. 1886, a detached part of this parish was amalgamated with Carlton, in Linton union."
[Kelly's Directory - 1929]

Cemeteries

The Monumental Inscriptions for the churchyard of the Blessed Virgin 1705-1979 reside in the Cambridge Record Office. These are available, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.

Census

The Census Records from 1841-1891 can be found in the Cambridge Record Office. In addition the 1851 Census for Brinkley is available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.

Church History

"The church of the Blessed Virgin, restored in 1874 by the rector and parishioners at an expense of about £1,000, is a building of flint, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south porch and an embattled western tower containing 6 bells; the chancel and nave are Decorated and the tower Perpendicular: there are 200 sittings. The register dates from the year 1685."
[Kelly's Directory - 1929]

Church Records

Church of England

Brinkley, Blessed Virgin: The parish registers for baptisms 1684-1997, marriages 1686-1990, burials 1724-1996 and banns 1754-1809, 1828-1966 reside in the Cambridge Record Office. Index transcripts of baptisms 1599-1851, marriages 1599-1838 and burials 1599-1851 are available in the Cambridge Record Office. Parish register transcripts of Brinkley, Blessed Virgin, 1599-1851, are available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1860 can be found in the Cambridge University Library.

Methodist

Wesleyan Methodist Church: Records exist at the Cambridge Record Office for the Mildenhall Wesleyan Circuit of which Brinkley is part.

Military History

The Brinkley War Memorial has been transcribed and and the men researched, it is inside the Church.

Taxation

Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridge Record Office for the years 1798 (on microfilm), 1829-32, 1878-88 and 1931-1948.


Find help, report problems, and contribute information.


[Last updated 20 March 2003 Martin Edwards]