GENUKI Home page

Up Cambridgeshire Contents Contents Nearby PlacesNearby Places NeighboursNearby churches



CALDECOTE

"CALDECOT, or Caldecote, is a parish, 4 miles north east from the Old North Road station on the Bedford and Cambridge branch of the London, Midland and Scottish railway, about 8 west from Cambridge and about 12 north from Royston, in the hundred of Longstow, petty sessional division and union of Caxton and Arrington, county court district of Cambridge, rural deanery of Bourn and archdeaconry and diocese of Ely."

"The impropriate tithes of this parish, anciently given by Picot de Cambridge to the monks of Barnwell, are now vested in the Master and Fellows of Christ's College, Cambridge. The land is nearly all freehold. The principal landowners are Clare and Christ's Colleges, Cambridge. The soil is heavy clay; subsoil, gault. The chief crops are wheat, barley and beans. The area is 948 acres; the population 1921 was 161."
[Kelly's Directory - Cambridgeshire - 1929]

Cemeteries

The Monumental Inscriptions in the graveyard of St. Michael are recorded in the Cambridge Records Office for the years 1759-1975. These inscriptions are also available on microfiche from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.

Census

The Census Records from 1841-1891 can be found in the Cambridge Record Office. In addition the 1851 Census for Caldecote is available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall.

Church History

"The church of St. Michael, standing on a picturesque and woody bank, is a small but ancient building of stone in the Early Perpendicular style, consisting of chancel, nave, north and south porches and an embattled western tower containing 3 bells: the chancel retains a small crocketed niche, and in the south porch is a benatura: there are carved stalls in the chancel and a rood screen with traces of colour; the church was thoroughly repaired in 1860 and 1861, and affords 100 sittings; during the year 1899 the church was restored and several gifts made to it, including a small organ. The register dates from the year 1728."
[Kelly's Directory- Cambridgeshire - 1929]

Church Records

Church of England

Caldecote, St. Michael: Records of baptisms 1740-86, 1798-1972, marriages 1739-1969, burials 1740-1965 and banns for 1754-1812, 1827-41, 1871-92 reside in the Cambridge Record Office, transcripts of the parish registers are available for the years 1662-1988, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Bookstall..The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1605-32 and 1660-1858 can be found in the Cambridge University Library.

Military History

The Caldecote War Memorial has been transcribed and and the men researched.

Taxation

Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridge Record Office for the years 1767, 1798 on microfilm and 1806-32.


Find help, report problems, and contribute information.


[Last updated 20 March 2003 Martin Edwards]