Cornwall
Contents
Nearby places
Gwinear
The parish of Gwinear (Cornish: Sen Gwynnyer), is situated in the Deanery and Hundred of Penwith. To the north is the parish
of Gwithian with Camborne also in the north going around to the east. Crowan is
to the east going around to the south of Gwinear Parish, with St. Erth and
Phillack both lying to the west. This parish lies on high ground south-west of
Camborne and is composed of scattered farms and houses. There is archaeological
evidence that farming in this area goes back at least to the 2nd century, as a
defended farmhouse of that period was discovered in the parish. The village of
Rosewarne was once in possession of the Arundells of Lanherne. Gwinear was the
son of an Irish pagan king and is reputed to have been slaughtered together
with his companions by the Cornish pagan king Theodoric.
Silver and copper mines and related industries were important in the past,
but as elsewhere in Cornwall these have now declined. In the 18th and 19th
centuries, Rosewarne and Herland mines produced silver, whilst Wheal Alfred and
Wheal Relistian produced copper. In those days, the parish was a thriving
mining community and one of the first steam engines ever to be built was
installed at the Herland mine in 1758. Now the parish has camping and caravan
parks and agriculture is the other source of industry.
Villages within the Parish are the Churchtown, Coswinsausin, Drannock,
Fraddam, Tregortha, Rewala, Relistian, Carnhell Green, and Wall. The civil
parishes of Gwinear and Gwithian were combined to form Gwinear-Gwithian in
1934.
Census information for this parish (1841 - 1901) is held in the
Cornwall
Record Office. The Cornwall Family
History Society offers a census search service for its members. The Cornwall Family History Society have also published on-line census detail by surname on the FamilyHistoryonLine site.
Specific census information for this parish is available as follows:
- 1841. The 1841 Census of Gwinear (HO107/142), Enumeration
Districts 5 to 8, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project.
- 1851.
- The 1851 Census of Gwinear (HO107/1916) is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census
project as follows:
- The New Zealand Society of Genealogists have compiled separate surname
indexes of the 1851 Census for each Cornish registration district; Gwinear is listed in
Volume 38. The booklets are available in Cornwall at the
Cornwall Centre (formerly known as the Cornish Studies Library), and is
also available in the Cornwall FHS Library.
- 1861. The 1861 Census of Gwinear (RG9/1585), Enumeration
Districts 5 to 8, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project.
- 1871. The 1871 Census of Gwinear (RG10/2329), Enumeration
Districts 7 to 9, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project.
- 1881. The 1881 Census of Gwinear (RG11/2338), Enumeration Districts 6 to 9, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project.
- 1891. The 1891 Census of Gwinear (RG12/1852), Enumeration
Districts 6 to 9, is available on-line from the Cornwall Online Census project.
- Anglican. The parish
church is located in OS Grid Square SW5937 and was dedicated to St Winierus or
Gwinear. The Gwinear Church stands on an elevated part of the parish, some
240 feet above sea-level, and the living was held by Exeter College and had
been since 1261.
The church comprises a chancel, nave, south aisle,
north aisle, and an extreme north aisle. The south arcade has four obtuse
arches, the north six, and the extreme north four. Entrance is by a north
porch, there is a priest's door; the south door is blocked. The tower is of
three stages, buttressed on the square, and finished with battlements and
pinnacles. The stone staircase is finished with a turret which also is
battlemented. The tower was built around 1441, when money was left for its
building. A beacon used to be lit on the church tower as a navigation
aid.
Details about the plans of the modern church are available on-line.
- Non-Conformist.There is a Methodist Church at Wall, and a Meeting House at
Carnhell Green. John Wesley preached at Wall in 1747.
The Gwinear parish registers begin in 1560; however, the orginal register is in
very poor condition.
- LDS Church Records.
- The LDS Church batch numbers for Gwinear are: C025711/2/5, M025714/6/7. These are searchable by surname.
- The IGI coverage of this parish is 1560 - 1895.
- The Cornwall
Record Office holdings: Baptisms 1560 - 1900, Burials 1560 - 1900,
Marriages 1560 - 1812, Boyd's Marriage Index 1560 - 1912, Pallot's Marriage Index 1800 - 1812.
- Baptisms.
- The Cornish Forefathers' Society have published on CD baptisms 1712 to 1840 for this parish.
- Baptisms
in Gwinear parish 1813 to 1820 are available on-line courtesy of West Cornwall Genealogy.
- The OPC of Breage has transcribed Breage Circuit: Bible Christian Births & Baptisms 1821 to 1837. Parishes mentioned include: Breage, Crowan, Gwinear, Helston, Mullion, Porthleven, St Anthony, St Hilary, St Keverne, Sithney and Wendron. These can be searched on-line.
- Cornwall Legacy have also published on CD baptisms (1845 to 1900) and Burials (1892 to 1900) of the Breage and Crowan Methodist Chapels, (including Black Rock, Horsedowns, Nancegollan, Praze, Townshend, Trenwheal chapels). Areas include: Breage, Crowan, Gwinear, Sithney, and St Erth.
- Cornwall Legacy have also published on CD, baptisms (1866 to 1900) of the Hayle Wesleyan Methodist Circuit. The area covers Hayle, Phillack, Breage, Crowan, Gwinear, St Erth and Gwithian.
- Cornwall Legacy have also published on CD, records of the Hayle Wesleyan Circuit (Wall Section). These include: baptisms (1862 to 1900), Wall Chapel marriages (1867-1884, 1899-1900, Connor Downs Chapel baptisms 1900. The areas covers Hayle, Phillack, Breage, Crowan, Ludgvan, Gwinear, Copperhouses, St Erth and Gwithian.
- Marriages.
- The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: Parish Marriages 1560 to 1837, which is available in Book, CD or downloadable .pdf file formats.
- Phillimore's marriages 1560 to 1710 for this parish are available on-line through the OPC search Facility - (C-PROP).
- Burials.
- The Cornwall Family History Society have published transcripts of: Parish Burials 1813 to 1837, which is available in Book or CD formats.
- West Cornwall Genealogy have placed on line burials in Gwinear parish:
The parish of Gwinear was originally in the Redruth Registration District
until its dissolution. There were sub-districts at Camborne, Gwennap, Illogan,
Phillack and Redruth which have now been abolished. Gwithian-Gwinear is now
part of the Penzance
Registration District. Parishes in this registration district were: Camborne, East Phillack, Gwennap, Gwinear, Gwithian, Illogan, Phillack, Redruth, St. Sithian's, West Phillack.
The Superintendant Registrar of Penzance can be contacted at: Alphington House, Alverton Place, Penzance, TR18 4JJ. Tel: 01736 330093.
- ePodunk's Cornwall page - providing general, plus some historical and genealogical information, about Cornwall and its parishes, together with links (mainly relating to general sites and services, rather than ones that are specific to Cornwall or particular parishes).
- OPC Assistance. The On-line Parish Clerk (OPC) scheme operates a service to help family historians; the OPC page for this parish is available on-line, from where the OPC can be contacted by email.
- There is a genealogical
website for the parish.
The Domesday Settlements of Cornwall, a study undertaken by the Cornwall Branch of the Historical Association, has identified and located settlements listed in the Exeter and Exchequer Domesday Survey of AD 1086. The following places have been identified in Gwinear ecclesiastical parish:
There were five Manors which held land in the Parish; they were: Connerton,
Drannick, Gurlyn, Polkinghorne, and Roseworthy.
A list of surnames
in Gwinear, which are being researched by those who are email capable, is
available on-line.
Gwinear parish was part of the Redruth
Union for Poor Law administration and parish relief.
The civil parishes of Gwinear and Gwithian united to form 'Gwinear -
Gwithian' in 1934. However, population figures were combined from 1901 for the joint Gwinear-Gwithian civil parish.
- Population in 1801 - 1654 persons
- Population in 1811 - 1952 persons
- Population in 1821 - 2383 persons
- Population in 1831 - 2728 persons
- Population in 1841 - 2862 persons
- Population in 1851 - 2635 persons
- Population in 1861 - 2880 persons
- Population in 1871 - 2717 persons
- Population in 1881 - 2170 persons
- Population in 1891 - 2197 persons
|
- Population in 1901 - 2123 persons
- Population in 1911 - 2068 persons
- Population in 1921 - 1956 persons
- Population in 1931 - 1868 persons
- Population in 1951 - 1869 persons
- Population in 1961 - 1693 persons
- Population in 1971 - 1701 persons
- Population in 1981 - 2255 persons
- Population in 1991 - 2815 persons
- Population in 2001 - 3032 persons
|
A list of Wills &
Admons for Gwinear, Cornwall 1660 - 1773 is available on-line.
The parish comprises 4647 acres of land.
Return to top of page
Find
Help, report problems, or contribute information.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the
charitable trust GENUKI.
Copyright © GENUKI 2001-2008
[Last updated: 27th November 2008 - Ian Argall]
Are you lost in the GENUKI hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
Copyright and Disclaimer
- The information on the GENUKI
(www.genuki.org.uk) website must not be used for commercial
purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices,
etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI
must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm
the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers,
and hence threaten its whole future.
- Whilst we take every care to keep the information on our
web pages accurate, we disclaim any warranty or representation, express
or implied about its accuracy, completeness or appropriateness for a
particular purpose. Thus, you assume full responsibility for its use,
and you understand and agree that neither GENUKI as an organisation nor
any of its maintainers or providers are responsible or liable for any
claim, loss or damage as a consequence.
- GENUKI contains many hyperlinks and directives to sites
developed by others. They are provided for your convenience only.
We do not control nor guarantee the accuracy, relevance,
timeliness, or completeness of such sites, and in the event
of a link to such a site being 'broken', or otherwise unavailable,
our only recourse is to remove that link.
Thank you for your cooperation. GENUKI is a registered trademark
of the charitable trust GENUKI - see
About GENUKI as an Organisation.
|