Nearby places
SUTTON cum DUCKMANTON, Derbyshire
"SUTTON-CUM-DUCKMANTON, a parish in the hundred of Scarsdale, county Derby,
4½ miles S.E. of Chesterfield, its post town, and 160 from London. In the
vicinity are the Duckmanton colliery and iron works. The living is a
rectory* with the vicarage of Duckmanton annexed, in the diocese of
Lichfield, value £309. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, has several
stained windows."
[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of
Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin Hinson ©2003]
Here are a series of wonderful books written by local author Pamela Kettle:-
- Kettle, Pamela - Oldcotes. Merton Priory Press, 2000.
The story of a stately home which vanished, Bess of Hardwick's last building.
- A history of the Hardwick Inn. Published by P Kettle, 1991;
96 pages, paperback.
- The history of the Sutton-cum-Duckmanton endowed school, 1693-1936.
Published by Pamela Kettle, Chesterfield, 1996; 76 pages, paperback.
- Sutton Scardale's story - Pt. 1: The Leekes of Sutton.
Published by Ilkeston : Moorley's Bible & Bookshop, 116 pages, paperback.
- Parsons of Sutton-cum-Duckmanton : seven centuries of church life.
Published by Pamela Kettle, Chesterfield, 1995; 116 pages, paperback.
- A CD containing a transcription of
The Parish Registers of St Mary's Church
(CMB 1662-1910) is available for purchase from 'Ancestral Archives'.
Added 9 Sep 2007.
- The parish registers of Sutton cum Duckmanton,
1662-1837, edited by Pamela Kettle and Philip Riden, 1992,
are available for purchase as one of
Derbyshire Record Society Publications.
- Census Statistics - the population figures for the village of Sutton cum Duckmanton are as follows:-
| 1801 | 1811 | 1821 | 1831 | 1841 |
1851 | 1861 | 1871 | 1881 | 1891 |
| 515 | 619 | 685 | 700 | 628 |
587 | 507 | 502 | 477 | 721 |
| 1901 | 1911 | 1921 | 1931 | 1951 |
1961 | 1971 | 1981 | 1991 | |
| 1158 | 1475 | 1551 | 3270 (1578) | 1707 |
1355 | 1265 | 1237 | 1404 | |
1901, 1911 Inc due to colliery development.
1931 Inc due to colliery and residential
development.
The above census statistics have been contributed by
Joseph Platt.
© Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996-2008, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/DBY/SuttoncumDuckmanton/index.html
[Created 22 Jul 2001. Last updated 15 Nov 2009 - 15:05 by Rosemary Lockie]