Nearby places
CHELTENHAM, Gloucestershire
- Hart, Gwen - A History of Cheltenham. Leicester University Press, 1965.
Hardback, 394p.
Too old to have an ISBN!
Chapters are on 1: The Beginnings; 2: The Medieval Owners of Cheltenham;
3: The Liberty of Cheltenham; 4: The effects of the Reformation in Cheltenham;
5: 'A Longe Towne havynge a Market'; 6: Cheltenham in the Reign of James I;
7: The Manor and Church in the time of Charles I; 8: Cheltenham during the Civil War;
9: The Commonwealth and After; 10: The Beginnings of the Spa;
11: Interlude: the Royal Visit; 12: The Growth of the Town after the Royal Visit;
13: The Spa in Time of War; 14: The Development of Regency Cheltenham;
15: 'The Merriest Sick Resort on Earth'; 16: The Stronghold of the Evangelicals;
17: The Changing Scene; 18: Party Politics and General Elections;
19: The Administration of the Vestry and the Commissioners, 1786-1821;
20: The Vestry, 1806-52, and the Reorganisation of Pate's Grammar School;
21: The Work of the Commissioners, 1821-39;
22: The Commissioners - an Unpopular Oligarchy, 1839-52;
23: The Decay of the Manor; 24: The Last Phase of the Commissioners'
Power, and the Battle for Incorpration.
- Brooks, Robin - The Story of Cheltenham. Sutton Publishing, 2003.
Paperback 242p. currently (2004) priced £16.99.
Chapters are on 1: Chintencha;
2: Spa-di-da - The Nineteenth Century;
3: The Anglo-Indians' Paradise - 1900-19;
4: Between the Wars - 1920-39;
5: Make Do and Mend - 1940-59;
6: Demolition Decades - 1960-79;
7: Catching Up with the Twentieth Century - 1980-99;
8: In Town Tonight.
- Blake, Steven - Cheltenham: A Pictorial History. Published by Phillimore, 1996.
180 photographs, with plenty of explanatory text. Hardback currently (2004) priced £13.99.
-
War Memorials and Rolls of Honour In The Cheltenham Area -
also includes some surrounding villages.
Added 10 May 2007.
- Some
Memorial Inscriptions in The Cemetery & Garden of Remembrance, Cheltenham,
collected and transcribed by Alf Beard. Added 26 Sep 2005.
-
Photograph of The Cemetery (with Chapel), and
Photograph of The Cemetery (2), Cheltenham, from Alf Beard.
Added 13 Oct 2005.
-
Inscriptions on the War Memorial, 1st World War, recorded by John Hyde.
-
Inscriptions on the War Memorial (South Africa, 1899-1902), recorded by John Hyde.
-
Inscriptions on the St Peter's Church War Memorial, recorded by John Hyde.
-
Inscriptions on the St Paul's Church War Memorial, recorded by John Hyde.
-
Monumental Inscriptions in Christchurch, Cheltenham,
taken from the first volume of Gloucestershire Notes and Queries (pub. 1881,
edited by Rev. Beaver H. Blacker, M.A). The inscriptions themselves were
recorded in 1876, and are from inside Christchurch only. This modern
transcription is by Stuart Flight.
-
Monumental Inscriptions in St James, Cheltenham,
taken from the first volume of Gloucestershire Notes and Queries (pub. 1881,
edited by Rev. Beaver H. Blacker, M.A). The inscriptions themselves were
recorded in 1876, and are from inside St James' Church only. This modern
transcription is by Stuart Flight.
-
Monumental Inscriptions in Trinity, Cheltenham,
taken from the first volume of Gloucestershire Notes and Queries (pub. 1881,
edited by Rev. Beaver H. Blacker, M.A). The inscriptions were recorded prior
to 1881, and are from inside Trinity only. Again, this modern transcription
is by Stuart Flight.
- Website of St Mary & St Matthew's
Churches. Of particular interest is their section on Parish History, where
they provide details of the Plaques inside St Mary's Church.
Added 18 Mar 2008.
- A short account of its history is available on the
website of Christ Church Cheltenham
(founded 1837). Added 17 Oct 2005.
- Website of All Saints Church, Pittville
(church established 1868).
-
Cheltenham, Current and Former Places of Worship. Information on many
of the Churches, Chapels, Meeting Houses &c. in Cheltenham,
provided by Stuart Flight - very comprehensive; includes photographs
of
St Andrew's Church.
-
Photograph of St Michael's Church, Cheltenham, from Phil Draper.
-
Photograph of Christ Church, Cheltenham, from Rosemary Lockie. Added 3 Aug 2005.
- The parish registers for St Mary's Church (the only "old" church
in the town) begin in 1558, whereas the others all begin in either the 19th or 20th centuries.
All available registers will be found lodged in the
Gloucester Record Office.
- Pate's Grammar School, originally for boys only was founded in 1576
by Richard PATE, who was at one time Recorder of Gloucester. During the time it
situated in the town-centre, it occupied a building in present-day Albion Street.
Today "Pates" school is sited outside the centre, next to the
Gloucestershire College of Art, and admits pupils of both sexes.
- Cheltenham College was founded in 1841; the Reverend Francis
CLOSE, an incumbent of Cheltenham for 30 years (1826-56), was one of its founders.
The building is in the Perpendicular style of architecture and has more the
appearance of a medieval church! A chapel was added after the First World War
as a memorial to the six hundred and seventy five former pupils ("Old
Cheltonians") who died.
- Cheltenham Ladies' College was founded in 1853. Miss Dorothea
BEALE, one of the pioneers of public boarding-school education for girls was
principal from 1858 to 1906 (that's a long time - 48 years!)
- Dean Close School was founded in 1886 by a group of Evangelical
Churchmen as a memorial to the aformentioned Reverend Francis CLOSE.
following his death. He became Dean of Carlisle after his ministry in Cheltenham
(1856-1881), dying the following year in Penzance. He is buried in Carlisle.
- All Saints (1869)
- Christchurch (1865)
- Emmanuel (1918)
- Holy Trinity (1823)
- St John (1865)
- St Luke (1855)
|
- St Mark (1862)
- St Mary (1558)
- St Michael (1947)
- St Paul (1846)
- St Peter (1845)
- St Stephen (1884)
|
© Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996-2008, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/GLS/Cheltenham/index.html
[Last updated 17 Oct 2008 - 11:51 by Rosemary Lockie]