GLOUCESTERSHIRE PROBATE RECORDS
Abstracts from
WILLS 1600 - 1614
for Cromhall, Rangeworthy, Tytherington & Wickwar
Contact: Leslie Mahler
Complete Documents can be seen on L.D.S. Film #0091387
thru to #0091393 obtainable at your local L.D.S. Family History Library.
The parish registers for Cromhall begin in 1653; those for Rangeworthy in
1704; Tytherington in 1662; Wickwar in 1689. There are some bishops
transcripts available, but they are generally fragmentary. Therefore, the
following wills provide information that may be unavailable elsewhere.
1600
COOKE, John - Wickwar, carpenter
sons Geo & Jn; wife exec; overs Jn Symes & Henry Roberts
VENERY alias PECKE, John, senr - Cromhall, weaver (surname given as "Venell" in index)
childr Thos, Alice & Margt; godson Jn Venery alias Picke son of Thos
Picke; godson Jn Croome; Alice dtr of Rob Croome; kinsman Rich Venerie alias
Picke; Alice Alpasse; godson Jn Alpasse; dtr Joan Croome; execs sons Wlm &
Rob; overs son Jn & Guy Lawrence
WHOPER, George - Wickwar, husb
Geo Owen; Jn son of Kath Tomes; Christian Riche; Yedy Sarney & her dtr
Mary; Chris Cumpear; Jms Howell; Geo & Eliz Cole; Thos Ledeat; Thos Tomes;
Agn Burgis; execs wife & Thos Everett; overs Rich Whopper, Jn Wolfurd
& Sander Tomes
1601
AGROVE, Henry - Itchington, Tytherington, husb
dtrs Susan & Joan; dtr Ellen Hix; Ellen wife of Wlm Hyx; exec bro Rich
Agrove of Buckover; overs Jms Frynd of Buckover
ALLEN, Thomas - Cromhall
dtrs Margt Pullen, Joan Baker & Helen Crome; sisters son Thos Alpas;
Thos Curnocke; Cicely Gromwich; son Rob exec; witns Rob Arnold, Jms Pullen,
Wlm Baker, Rich Crome & Jn Wall, rector
ATWELL, Margaret - Cromhall, widow
late wife of Edward Atwell; poor of Hawkesbury & Wickwar; Jn Snigge;
husbands godtr Joan Wall; dtr Margt widow of Thos Hicks; childr Rich, Jn &
Jane Atwell; dtr Susan wife of Rob Webbe; godtr Margt dtr of Arthur Hixe;
grandchildr; bro Michael Crewe & his son Wlm; sis Susan wife of Nichls
Webbe; exec son Arthur Hixe; overs Jn Wall, clerk, Matt Crewe of Alderley,
clothier, Thos Dauncey of Uley & Jn Crewe of Hillesley, fuller
GROVE, Thomas - Tytherington
childr Joan, Mary & Jn; Abraham Cullimore; sisters Judith & Agn;
bro Jn G & his dtr Cath; wife Eliz exec; overs Jn Pullen & Oswald
Stitch
HOLDER, Joan - Tytherington, singlewoman
Isaac Collymore; bros & sisters; witns Edith Wall, Agn Cullymore &
Cath Holder
1602
BISHOPP, Thomas - Wickwar, yeo
wardship of Alice, Christian & Eliz dtrs of Thos Tomes decsd; wife
Christian exec; overs Henry Cambe & bro Henry B
BRAYNE, Thomas - Wickwar, tanner
dtrs son Rich Meryke; Jn Tomes; wife Eliz exec; witns Rob Sparry, clerk,
Jn Tomes, Jn Wyllshier, Jn Hoper & Jn Smith
CURNOCK, John - Wickwar, weaver
Margt & Edith dtrs of Jn Symmes & his wife Anne; Emme dtr of Thos
Wimboll & his wife Edith; sons Giles & Jn; son in law Giles Fouler of
Hillesley; execs dtr Winifred & son in law Thos Wimbolle; overs Jn Cooke
& Thos Stocke
DYMERY, Richard - Cromhall
childr Rich & Edith; wife Margt exec
TYLER, Thomas - Tytherington
7 childr including 2 sons; wifes mother Susanna Cullmore; exec present wife
Eliz
1603
COKE, John - Wickwar, shoemaker
(land?) in Sobbury to son Francis; childr Joan, Henry, Margt & Eliz;
execs son Francis & wife Alice; overs Jn Benat of Hoklege, parish of
Tandies & Wlm Bences of Haxbury Uptone; witns Alex Dornie & Wlm
Hancorne
HANCHORNE, Thomas - Wickwar, innholder
land in county Warwick to son Wlm; kinswmn Joan Longly; wife Alice exec;
overs Jn Cooke, Henry Webb & Thos Davies
HILL, Anthony - Rangeworthy
dtr Joan; wife Julian exec; witns Wlm Rainouldes
1604
LAWRENCE, Joan - Cromhall, widow
son Thos; Rich & Jane childr of Thos Lawrence; dtr Margt & her 5
childr by Jn Jobbyns; Joan dtr of Jn Dymerie of Callbruck ende; Jn Dymerie
& his childr Anthony & 5 others; Rich Baker & his sis Joan wife
of Rich Dymerie; Guy Lawrence, his wife Joan & their childr Ellen, Alice,
Margt, Eliz & Wlm; Henry Lawrence & his childr Jn, Thos, Jms &
Anthony; svt Agn Roberts; dtr Joan & her childr Deanes Hiett & Thos
& Jn Baker; execs sons Guy & Henry L; overs Jn Wall, clerk & Jn
Dymery of Talruckx
STREETE, James - Wickwar
Rich Harris; sis in law Joan Pride; wife Edith exec; overs Rob Belcher
& Rich Butting
1605
AYLEWORTH, Robert - Tytherington
son in law Wlm Howlder; childr Jms, Arthur & Matt; wife Joan exec;
overs Arthur & Nichls Hobbes
BARNE, William - Cromhall, husb
dtr Ellen; dtr Eliz Maunsell; son Thos exec; overs Peter Bruton & Henry
Goodman; witns Jms Demery & Rob Gryffyn
CROME, Joan - Cromhall
son Edward & his dtr Susan; childr Jn, Rob & Alice; Thos, Jms &
Jn sons of Rich Crome; Jn son of Rob Crome; svt Agn Forde; son Rich C; execs
sons Peter & Oswald C; overs Jn Dymerye & Rob Griffyn
DAINGERFIELD, John - Rangeworthy, weaver
bro Thos D & his childr Jn, Edward, Eliz & Mary; Edy Roache; Edward
Marett; sis Joan D; Mary Chandler & her dtr Ursula; poor of Wickwar; dtr
of Alice Grayle of Huntingford; bro Thos D exec; overs Jn Wolford & Thos
Stocke; witns Jn Mayo; scriptor Jn Harris
DORNEY, John - Cromhall
son in law Wlm Adye & his 3 childr; son Rob; dtr Christian; son in law
Thos Gower; wife Christian exec; witns Jn Garlock & Rob Arnold
GENNINGS, Thomas - Wickwar
childr Jn, Edie & Joan; unborn child; sis Avis; wife exec; overs Wlm
Past & Jn Tayler; witns Rich Colwell & Thos Taylor alias Rodman
JONES, Joan - Wickwar (listed as missing)
bro Thos Daingerfeilde & his childr Jn, Edward, Thos, Eliz & Mary;
Eliz dtr of Edward Chandler; Sarah Tratman; Ursula Chandler; Kath Mabat; sis
Kath Tratman; Eliz dtr of Edward Tratman; sis Alice Mabat; Eliz dtr of Chris
Tratman & his wife Eliz; bro Jn Tratman & his son Jn; Edy Roach;
Anthony Houlder; bro in law Edward Chaundler of Hill, husb;cousin Chris .. of
Winterborne clothier; exec Jn son of Thos Daingerfeild; overs Thos Stoke &
Wlm Paste
SYMMES, Edmund - Wickwar, baker
childr Geo, Rich, Thos & Joan; son Jn & his dtr Margt; other
childr; son Jn exec; overs Wlm Paste & Wlm Farre; witns Jn Walter, Jn
Kyete, Jn Foorde & Joan Symmes
1606
BARNES, John - Cromhall, mason
sisters Eliz & Ellen; bro Thos exec; witns Wlm Barnes, Jn Venrie alias
Picke senr, Arthur Bruton, Susan & Eliz Barnes
BERRY, Richard - Tytherington
childr Peter, Susan & Mary; wife Elnr exec; witns Wlm Lacie, Andrew
Pullen & Jms Pullen jr
DANYELL, John - Cromhall
son Rob; Henry Packer; execs dtrs Alice & Eliz; overs Thos Tratman,
Arthur Hixe & Rob Patche; witns Thos Farr, Rob Crome & Wlm Baker
SYMES Joan - Wickwar, virgin
Kath & Joan Norton; Maud Child; wife of Arthur Ford; bro Geo S; Matt
Dooddinge; Eliz Hill; Alice Hancorne; Jn Sims jr; Edith & Margt Simes; Jn
Knight; bro Jn S exec; witns Giles Curnocke & Julian Foord
1607
BROWNE, William - Stidcote, Tytherington
Henry Wisse & his wife Deenes, & her previous husb Rob Colimore;
Thos & Joan Wicks; wife Eliz; Jn Agrove; Henry, Kath & Julian childr
of Henry Wisse; dtr Deenes & her childr by Rob Colimore :Jn, Wlm, Isaac,
Thos, Nichls, Jms, Agn & Eliz; exec Henry Wisse; overs Henry Shilde
FARR, Richard - Wickwar
dtrs Joan & Isab; godson Rich Gale; father Wlm F; bro Thos F; sis Joan;
childr of Rich Grove; wife Edith exec; overs bro in law Wlm Smith & Thos
Farr; witns Rob Walker, Wlm Past & Jn Underwoode
JOHNSON, Michael - Tytherington, husb
dtrs Ellen & Anne; wife Martha exec; witns Henry Wisse, Henry Sheilde,
Wlm Smithe & Edward Packer
LONGDEN, Marian - Wickwar
bro Wlm L & his dtr Mary; bro Jn L senr & his childr Jn, Thos, Wlm,
Judith & Mary; bro Jn L jr & his childr Thos, Jn, Jane, Edith, Joan
& Elnr; Cicely dtr of Joan Ford; Thos Fobes, uncle of Thos son of Jn
Fobes; exec bro in law Thos Fobes; overs Chris Tratman, clothier & Wlm
Past, weaver; witns Geo Webbe, Edward Merett & Joan Daingerfield
WORLOCKE, Richard - Cromhall
childr Rich & Agn; Jn & Eliz Fidler; Wlm son of Edward Worlocke;
son Edward & his mother in law Joan Worlocke; godson Rich Gale; wife Joan
exec
1608
DAGGE, Alexander, senr - Rangeworthy
son Jn; dtr Eliz exec; witns Rich Doll & Jn Rodman
DRAYCOTE, Richard - Cromhall, butcher
Edith Farr; Geo Goodchepe; Wlm Jones; Rob Edwards; Henry Walkeley; David
Mayowe; Henry Allen; Rich Younge; Thos, Jms & Jn Demery; Lucy Cornocke;
Kath Gromage; Francis Very; Rich Houlder; dtr of Jn Kimerley; Jn & Agn
childr of Rich Cutler of Kingswood; Ursula Cole; Eliz Fidler; Agn Ploweman of
Little Deane & her husb; Jn Cooke of Wickwar; wife exec; overs Rob Pache
& Rob Gryffin
HOOPER, Agnes - Wickwar, widow
3 childr of Geo Cole of Winterborne; son Alex Tomes & his childr Thos,
Jn & Mary; godsons Henry Cole senr, Wlm Foord & Wlm Hancorne; godtr
Agn wife of Jn Cole; Wlm Iles; exec son Alex Tomes; overs Benedict Webb of
Kingswood & Arthur Cambe of Wick, Berkeley
MARTEN, Edith - Cromhall, widow
dtr Eliz wife of Rob Gryffin; Edith Gryffin wife of Thos Taylor; godson
Rich & other childr of Rob Gryffyn; dtr Margt wife of Jn Francombe; godson
Jn Francombe; Jn Francombe & his sis Eliz; dtr Susan wife of Jn Seborne;
Chris & Margt & 4 other childr of Jn Seborne; cousin Arthur Hickes;
grandtr Edith Marten; Rob Curnock; Nichls Parsloe; Edith Mason; Edith Lenny;
Elnr & Christian Francombe; Agn Hicks; Jn Wall; Edith dtr of Jn Howlder;
execs sons in law Rob Gryffyn & Jn Francombe; overs Wlm Rogers & Rob
Webb
ROGERS, William - Cromhall, yeo
wife Margt & bequests to her from Margt Atwood & Thos Tratman; Wlm
Skey & his childr Thos, Edith, Kath & Margery; godson Rich Dannyll;
exec father Wlm R; overs Rob Arnold & Wlm Clerke
TRATMAN, Thomas - Cromhall, yeo
poor of Wotton, Thornbury, Wickwar, Tortworth & Tytherington; dtr Eliz
wife of Arthur Hickes & their childr Thos, Morgan, Arthur, Jn, Agn, Edith,
Kath & Eliz; sisters Maud Gore, Alice Hughs, Mary Chandler & Kath
Tratman; Mary Tratman; kinsmen Sam Neale, Edmund Tucker & Morgan Hickes
senr; godchildr Jn Stock, Jn Tratman & Margt Webb; bro Jn T & his son
Jn; exec son in law Arthur Hicks; overs bros Edward, Wlm & Francis T
TYLER, Edward - Tytherington
childr Edward, Wlm & Rebecca; house at Wodlands to dtr Helen; execs
wife Rebecca & son Peter; overs Wlm Hobbes & Wlm Cullimore
1609
DOLLE, Richard - Rangeworthy, tanner (listed as missing)
childr Alice & Giles; execs wife Dorothy & son Wlm; overs Rob
Hobbes & Jn Hooper; witns Henry Hooper weaver
FRINDE, William - Tytherington, husb
childr Mary, Jn & Wlm; bro Thos & his childr; bro Jms & his
childr; Eliz Mannsell; Phil Chamberlayne; Jms Webb; Thos Woode of Thornbury;
wife Isbl exec; overs bros in law Thos & Jn Huys; witns Wlm Phelipps
HOOPER, Nicholas - Rangeworthy, husb
sons Henry & Rich; son Jn & his dtr Eliz; son Jn exec; witns Thos
Goare curate & Humphrey Harris
NEALE, Alice - Rangeworthy, widow
son Geo & his son Geo; execs sons Jn & Geo N; overs Jn Rodman &
Stephen Jones; witns Thos Gooure clerk
PERRIMAN, John - Wickwar
Henry Hiet; Morris & Jn Barrat; Wlm Swaure; Arthur & Rob Foord;
Thos Yles; Mary Beavan; sis Eliz Basforde & her son Jn Dagge; Joan
Dodinge; Joan Perriman; son in law Phil Whitcote; wife Eliz exec; overs Henry
& Wlm Monsell; witns Wlm Hickes
ROGERS, Robert - Cromhall
sons Rob, Thos & Jn; dtr Eliz Clementes & her dtr Joan; wifes sons
dtr Agn Allen; wife Agn; overs Guy Lawrence & Arthur Hickes
SHILDE, Henry - Tytherington
land in Pamington, Ashchurch to son Wlm; son in law Rowland Higgins; dtr
in law Joan Higgins; Susanna dtr of Nichls Higgins; Henry Hix; Kath Wisse;
house at Porteberrie; son Henry; Jn Smyth of Nibley; wife Edith exec; overs
bro Jn S, Wlm Hobes & Wlm Cullimore
TAYLOR, Joan - Wickwar
son Jn T exec; witns Henry Wollworthe, Alice Neale, Rob Walker, Edith Fare
& Yeane Walker
1610
BAKER, Henry - Cromhall
sis Martha; Nichls Yonge; wife Alice exec; overs Jn Longe & Wlm
Wynbery; witns Jn Yeomans, Rich Yonge & Rob Arnold
HOOPER, Richard, senr - Rangeworthy, husb
execs son Rich & dtr Christian; witns Thos Colliby, Wlm Hooper &
Edmund Stone
WARNER, George - Rangeworthy, husb
wife Mary; kinswmn Eliz Weynall; son Rich exec; overs Rob Hobbs of the
Parke & bro Rich W; witns Rob Peasley, Jn Rodman, Jn Hoop, Humphrey Harris
& Abrm Pratt
WATERFORD, John - Cromhall
wife Alice; dtr Martha; Jn Worlocke; Jn Dorney; dtr Alice exec; overs Rob
Webb & Rob Patch; witns Jn Walls
WHITECOTE, Philip - Tytherington, appariter
godhchildr Phil Chamberlayne & Mary Packer; Joan Hicks; Phil Maunsell;
Jn Browne senr; svt Helen Walter; David Lewes; sis Margt Lewes; wife Helen
exec; witns R Hooper parson of Acton, Jms Pullen jr & Jn Browne jr
1611
BUDGGOOD, John - Itchington, Tytherington
dtrs Edith, Anne & Margt; wife Sara exec; overs Jms Houlder & Wlm
Bruton jr
CHAUNDLER, Richard - Rangeworthy
Nichls Chaundler & his childr Rich, Arthur & Margt; wife Eliz; exec
son Nichls C; overs Thos Tylladam & Chris Wodward
PULLEN, Thomas - Tytherington
legacies of mother & Alice Colimor to son Henry; childr Alice, Ellen,
Mary, Jn, Rich & Jms; wife Joan; exec son...; overs Jms Pullin, Wlm
Hobbes, Rob Colimor & Andrew Pullin
TROTMAN, Amy - Tytherington, widow
sons Jn, Wlm & Rich T; son in law Morgan Hix; execs dtrs Anne T &
Mary Hix; witns Wlm Jones clerk & Jn Pullen
1612
DIMBERY, Elizabeth - Cromhall, widow
late husb Thos D; son Henry, his wife & their son Rob; son Rich; dtr
Margt Urle; son in law Jn Urle & his dtr Anne; son Jn & his childr
Thos, Anne & Deenes; son Rich & his dtr Eliz; dtr Alice Baker exec;
overs Rob Arnold & Rob Griffin
FORD, John - Wickwar, shoemaker
son Ellis; wife Julian exec; witns Rich Batten, Rich Duning, Alex Webly
& Wlm Batten
HOLDER, Anthony - Rangeworthy, weaver
bur at Cromhall; poor of Cromhall; bro Thos of Cromhall; bros Rich &
Jn; wifes father Wlm Short; house in Wickwar to father in law Wlm Neall senr
of Yate & his son Martin & to Margt Hill of Ircott; execs Wlm, Agn
& Mary childr of sis Agn Jones of Cromhall
1613
PULLEN, Joan - Tytherington, widow
Rob & Jn sons of Rob Busher; Mary Busher; Thos son of Jn Weste; Edith
dtr of Edmund Stiffe; Ellen Stiffe; Roger Porter; Thos son of Jms Pullen; dtr
Alice; Wlm Jones of Tedrington; son Rich P exec; overs Wlm Jones; witns Isaac
Collimor
SMITH, William - Tytherington
Thos son of Anthony Danyell; childr of sons & dtrs; Nichls, Thos &
Helen Grove; Agn Hill; son Nichls; son Wlm exec; witns Jn Lacye & Jms
Pullen
STOCK, Henry - Wickwar, weaver
dtrs Agn, Alice, Kath, Eliz & Margt; wife Kath exec; overs Rich &
Thos Stock; witns Henry Byshopp, Jn Burnell, Thos Cambe & Arthur Cambe
WOLWARTH alias WEBB, Henry - Wickwar, yeo
son Jms & his son Henry; childr Sam, Eliz, Agn & Elnr; Henry son
of Jn Crewe; son in law Henry Jones & his dtr; son Thos exec; overs Henry
Byshoppe clerk & Wlm Past
1614
BARNARD, Dorothy - Rangeworthy, widow
Agn dtr of Thos Lideatt; dtr Dorothy Dole; exec Giles Dole; witns Rob Hoop,
parson of Acton & Maurice Lenny
MORMAN, William - Wickwar, husb
sons Jn & Rainall; wife Eliz exec; overs Jn Walker of Yate & Wlm
Paste; witns Rich Colwell
Return to top of page
© Copyright Leslie Mahler, GENUKI and Contributors 1998-2009, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/GLS/Cromhall/CRTY1600-14.html
[Last updated 3 Jul 2009 - 12:58 by Rosemary Lockie]