Nearby places
OWLPEN, Gloucestershire
- Transcription by Stuart Flight of
Owlpen Marriages (1687-1837), taken
from Gloucestershire Notes & Queries, "An Illustrated Quarterly
Magazine Devoted To The History And Antiquities Of Gloucestershire",
Vol VI, 1894-5.
- From earliest recorded times the Manor was a focal point for
our ancestors. Manorial records which may exist from the time before
parish registers begin, may provide clues to our family history,
in terms of who our ancestors worked for, what lands they held, what
crimes they may have committed, and more. Although its function became
replaced by a more central, and less parochial administration, the Manor
Houses themselves still survive in many villages. Sometimes they
have become farms, or else in other circumstances, Business Parks
(for example Staunton, nr. Newent), or else they are still owned by the same
family, and are open as "Stately Homes". Owlpen
Manor is an example of the latter. There's a good photograph of the
Manor House on Owlpen Manor Estate
home page - it was, and still is the home of the MANDER family, and
their web site also contains some notes on their family history. The surname
MANDER(S) is also the subject of a One-Name Study, although this
particular branch are possibly more famous for the manufacture of paint!
© Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996-2009, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/GLS/Owlpen/index.html
[Last updated 7 Jun 2009 - 11:02 by Rosemary Lockie]