| GENUKI Contents | England | Information related to all of Lancashire | Lancashire Towns & Parishes |
A county of England, lying on the Irish Sea, and bounded by Cumberland, Westmoreland, Yorkshire, and Cheshire. It is 75 miles in length, and 30 in breadth. It is divided into 6 hundreds, which contain 27 market towns, 62 parishes, and 894 villages. This county comprises a variety of soil and face of country; there being mountains of more than 2000 feet high, in the north and eastern parts, with wide moorlands or heaths amongst them; extensive bogs or mosses, which yield only turf for fuel, and are very dangerous; and some most fertile land for agricultural purposes. it yields iron, coal, slate, and other building-stones; salt, &c. &c. Grazing is more attended to than agriculture. The fisheries, both in the rivers and the sea, are valuable. As a commercial and manufacturing county, Lancashire is distinguished beyond most others in the kingdom. Its principal manufactures are linen, silk, and cotton goods; fustians, counterpanes, shalloons, baize, serges, tapes, small wares, hats, sail-cloth, sacking, pins, iron goods, cast plate-glass, &c. Of the commerce of this county, it may suffice to observe, that Liverpool is now the second port in the United Kingdom. The principal rivers are the Mersey, Irwell, Ribble, Lune, Leven, Wyre, Hodder, Roche, Duddon, Winster, Kent, and Calder, and it has two considerable lakes, Windermere and Coniston Water. Lancaster is the county town. Population, 1,667,054. It returns 26 members to parliament.(From Barclay's Complete and Universal Dictionary of 1842.)
Topics covered include the history of Lancashire, bibliographies and archival gu
ides, journals and newspapers, pedigrees, biographical sources,occupational sour
ces, family histories, parish registers, monumental inscriptions, probate record
s, official lists of names, directories, estate and family papers, religious rec
ords, records of national, county and local administration, educational sources,
and migration. Published in three volumes:
v.1. Sources.
v.2. Registers Inscriptions & Wills.
v.3. Family Histories & Pedigrees.
Published by the Federation of Family History Societies in association with SA & MJ Raymond.
An index to place names mentioned in the titles of topographical articles in the published volumes of the Victoria County History of Lancashire.
You may also find it worthwhile searching for churches in the GENUKI church database. Enter the name of the place in which the church is located:
The list of Trade Directory Holdings in Northern Libraries contains details of holdings in those libraries in "Lancashire over the Sands".
You may also find it worthwhile searching in the GENUKI gazetteer.
Surname lists:
E-mail lists:
People volunteering to lookup Lancashire information can be found at the Lookup Exchange.
Genoot has a section on Lancashire genealogy.
Lancashire was reduced in area as a result of the Local Government Act 1972. From 1 April 1974 the Furness area (the area of Lancashire north of Morecambe Bay) became part of Cumbria, the south east became part of Greater Manchester county, and the south west became part of Merseyside county. Warrington town and surrounding districts including the villages of Winwick and Croft and Risley and Culcheth were moved into Cheshire. A part of what was the West Riding of Yorkshire near Clitheroe, was transferred into Lancashire. Bear this in mind when deciding which current record office holds the information you require.
Hundreds: Lancashire used the term Hundred to define an ancient area of administration which probably derives from the area having to supply 100 armed knights to serve the monarch or similar. For Taxation purposes, the Hundred was used for division until into the 19c.
County Hundreds are:
Beryl Thompson has scanned in The Pictorial History of the County of Lancaster, published by George Routledge, London, in 1854.
Each Manor may have surviving court rolls from a Court Baron or Court Leet, adjacent Rolls should be checked when looking for tenants on a Manor.
Surviving Manorial records, in various forms, should be with the County Record Office and are usually deposited from Private Collections. The Guide to the Lancashire Record Office will point to any deposited records via the index section, look up the name of the area you need. Failing that, the manorial Documents Register, Quality House, Quality Court, Chancery Lane, London, holds a list of all deposited Manorial Documents in CROs.
The South Lancashire Regimental Museum, which was previously at Warrington, has now been moved to Fulwood Barracks at Preston.
The number of the barracks itself is 01772 716543, but if you want to get straight through to the museum you can ring 01772 260362.
The Address is:
Major Maher
Queen's Lancashire Regiment
Fulwood Barracks
Preston
Lancashire.
They have got a room with the South Lancashire Regimental Museum items from Warrington, and they are open on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 9.30-4-30.
The Fusiliers' Museum, Lancashire.
Most District libraries will hold a collection of newspapers on film covering their own area. Harris Library Preston holds 14 different regional newspapers. Manchester Local Studies hold the Manchester Mercury from 1752-1830 amongst others.
North West Gas Historical Society
c/o The Howard Greenfield Archive
British Gas plc
Common Lane
Partington
Manchester M31 4BR
The Workhouse site also covers this area with pictures of some of them. A good starting point at this site is the map of north west poor law unions.
Window Tax: Very little at all See Gibson Guide Land & Window Tax assessments (ISBN 1 872094 65 1)Pub FFHS 1993 £2.50
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI.
Copyright © 2004, Genuki.