Ashton on Ribble
ASHTON-ON-RIBBLE, a chapelry in Preston parish, Lancashire; on the river Ribble,
adjacent to the Wyre and Preston railway, 2 miles W of Preston. It consists of the
townships of Lea, Ashton, Ingol, and Cottam. Post Town, Preston. Acres, 3,522; of
which 175 are water. Real property, £9,883. Pop., 911. Houses, 176. The living is a p.
curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £106. The church was built in 1836. There
are a Roman Catholic chapel and a free school.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at
Preston library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Ashton, Lea, Cottam and Ingol.
- Garden Walk, Baptist
- St Andrew and Blessed George Haydock, Hoyles Lane, C, Cottam
- St Andrew, Blackpool Road, Church of England
- St Michael and All Angels, Tulketh Rd, Church of England
- St Margaret, Tag Lane, Church of England, Ingol
- St Christopher, Blackpool Road, Church of England, Lea
- Our Lady and St Bernard, Elswick Road, Roman Catholic
- Sacred Heart, Beech Grove, Roman Catholic
- SS Peter and Paul, Lea Road, Savick, Roman Catholic
- Holy Family, Whitby Avenue, Roman Catholic, Ingol
- St Mary, Church Park, Roman Catholic, Lea
- Bray St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wellington Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for
churches in the Ashton on Ribble area
that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help
identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the
location
of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated
since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong
church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
The Register Office covering the Ashton on Ribble area is
Preston and South Ribble
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ashton on Ribble to another place.
In 1835 Ashton, Lea, Cottam and Ingol was a township in the parish of
Preston.
View maps of Ashton on Ribble and places within its boundaries.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ashton on Ribble
was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester.
The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the
Lancashire Record Office.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[Last updated: Wednesday, 03-Sep-2008 11:33:35 BST - Phil Stringer]