GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Bacup

Archives and libraries
Census
Cemeteries
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Select map to view larger area
Directories
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
Maps
Probate Records
Bacup, mun. bor., Rochdale and Whalley pars., Lancashire, 19¼ miles N. of Manchester by rail, 6400 ac., pop. 25,034; 1 Bank, 2 newspapers. Market, daily. The staple industries are cotton spinning and power-room weaving. In the neighbourhood are numerous coal-pits and vast stonequarries. Bacup was incorporated in 1882.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Bacup Library,
St James' Square,
Bacup
OL13 9AH

Tel: 01706 873324

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Bacup.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bacup area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Offices covering the Bacup area are Hyndburn & Rossendale, and Rochdale.

Directories

David Greenhalgh has extracted entries from Pigot's 1828 Directory.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bacup to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Bacup was a chapelry in the township of Newchurch in Rossendale in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Bacup and places within its boundaries.

A map of Bacup around 1890.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bacup was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03-Sep-2008 11:33:36 BST - Phil Stringer]