GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Blackley

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Description and Travel
Select map to view larger area
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
History
Maps
Probate Records
Societies
BLACKLEY, a village, two chapelries, and a subdistrict, in Manchester parish and district, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Irk, near the Manchester and Leeds railway, 3 miles N of Manchester; and has a post office under Manchester, and a police station. The chapelries are B. and B.-St. Andrew. Acres, 1,764. Real property, £10,955. Pop., 4,112. Houses, 838. The property is subdivided. Many of the inhabitants are employed in cotton manufactures and in extensive dye-works. The livings are rectories. Value of B., £182.* B. church was rebuilt in 1835; and is in the early English style, with a fine tower. St. A. church was built in 1866. There are two Wesleyan chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, a mechanics' institution, a Church institute, public schools, and a reformatory. The subdistrict includes also Harpurhey township.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Blackley.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Blackley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Blackley area is Manchester.

Description and Travel

David Johnson provides Sketches of Blackley and District which were drawn by George Chandler Perkins in the 19th century.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Blackley to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Blackley was a township in the parish of Manchester.

History

A description of Blackley in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Blackley and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Blackley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

The Manchester & Lancashire Family History Society.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03-Sep-2008 11:33:42 BST - Phil Stringer]