Bradshaw
|
|
|
BRADSHAW, a township and a chapelry in Bolton-le-Moors parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Bolton and Blackburn railway, adjacent to the Oaks station, 3 miles NE of Bolton; and has a post office under Bolton. Acres, 1,380. Real property, £3,754. Pop., 792. Houses, 146. Bradshaw Hall was the seat of John Bradshaw, who presided at the trial of Charles I.; and is now the seat of T. Hardcastle, Esq. There are two cotton mills, a bleaching mill, and quarries. The church. is more extensive than the township, and was constituted in 1853. Pop., 1,968. Houses, 378. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150.* Patron, the Vicar of Bolton. The church is tolerable.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.Cemeteries
- St Maxentius, Bolton Rd, Church of England
- Tottington Rd, Primitive Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Bradshaw.Church History
Church Records
- St Maxentius, Bolton Rd, Church of England
- Tottington Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Bradshaw Chapel, Bolton Road, Unknown
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bradshaw area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

