GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Bulk

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Select map to view larger area
Civil Registration
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
Maps
Probate Records
BULK, a township in Lancaster parish, Lancashire; adjacent to the Kendal canal and the Carlisle railway, 2 miles NE of Lancaster. Acres, 1,147. Real property, £2,590. Pop., 109. Houses, 19. Bulk House is the seat of the Bushells.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster and Morecambe libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Bulk.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bulk area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Bulk area is Lancaster.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bulk to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Bulk was a township in the parish of Lancaster.

Maps

View maps of Bulk and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bulk was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03-Sep-2008 11:33:49 BST - Phil Stringer]