Dalton

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Select map to view larger area
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
Maps
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Probate Records
DALTON, a township in Wigan parish, Lancashire; near the Leeds and Liverpool canal, and the Southport and Wigan railway, 5½ miles WNW of Wigan. Acres, 2,090. Real property, £3,747; of which £100 are in mines. Pop., 453. Houses, 82.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Dalton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Dalton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Dalton area is West Lancashire

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Dalton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Dalton was a township in the parish of Wigan.

Maps

View maps of Dalton and places within its boundaries.

Poor Houses, Poor law etc.

Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Dalton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.