Gorton
|
|
|
GORTON, a township and a chapelry in Manchester parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Manchester and Sheffield railway, and on the Stourport canal, 3 miles ESE of Manchester; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Manchester. Acres, 1,429. Real property, £23,030; of which £332 are in gas-works. Pop. in 1851, 4,476; in 1861, 9,897. Houses, 1,813. The increase of pop. arose from the establishment of railway works, and the erection of a cotton mill. There are hat manufactories, chemical works, gum-works, a tan-yard, and a stained paper manufactory. A city gaol of Manchester was erected here in 1856; and a zoological garden is maintained in connexion with the Bellevue inn. The railway here passes 20 feet under the canal. There is a reservoir, of upwards of 70 acres, belonging to the Manchester water-works. The chapelry was constituted in 1854, and curtailed in 1865. Pop. in 1861, 7,017; in 1866, 2,490. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150. Patrons, the Dean and Chapter of Manchester. The church is a brick edifice in the Doric style. There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, Wesleyans, and Unitarians, a national school, and an excellent boarding school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.Cemeteries
- Thornwood Ave, Cemetery
- St James (formerly St Thomas), Church Lane/Cambert Lane, Church of England
- St Thomas, Gorton Lane, Church of England
- St Francis of Assisi (Gorton Monastery), Ellenbrook Close, Roman Catholic
- Brookfield Church, Hyde Road, Unitarian
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Gorton.Church History
The Monastery of St Francis and Gorton Trust has been formed to help preserve this splendid building.Church Records
- Mount Olivet, Mount Rd, Apostolic Church
- Trinity, Wellington St, Baptist
- Birch St, Baptist, West Gorton
- St George the Martyr, Abbey Hey Lane, Church of England, Abbey Hey
- All Saints, Blackwin Street, Church of England
- Emmanuel, Blackwin St, Church of England
- Our Lady of Mercy and St Thomas of Canterbury, Mount Rd, Church of England
- St James (formerly St Thomas), Church Lane/Cambert Lane, Church of England
- St Mark, Clowes Street, Church of England
- St Philip, Brookhurst Rd, Church of England
- St Thomas, Gorton Lane, Church of England
- Church Lane/Cambert Lane, Congregational
- Hyde Road, Evangelical
- Calvary, Cross Lane, Family Church
- Highmead St, Gospel Hall
- Abbey Hey Lane, Methodist, Abbey Hey
- Crossley Street formerly Napier St, Primitive Methodist
- Napier Street formerly Saighton St, Primitive Methodist
- Wellington St, Primitive Methodist
- Gorton Brook, Gorton Lane, Primitive Methodist
- Sacred Heart, Levenshulme Road, Roman Catholic
- St Francis, Textile Street, Roman Catholic
- St Francis of Assisi (Gorton Monastery), Ellenbrook Close, Roman Catholic
- Clowes Street, Union Baptist, West Gorton
- Brookfield Church, Hyde Road, Unitarian
- Gore St, United Methodist Free Church
- Hyde Road, United Methodist Free Church
- Mission, Harrop St, Wesleyan Methodist, Abbey Hey
- Cross Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Hyde Road, Wesleyan Methodist, West Gorton
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Gorton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Gorton area is Manchester.Directories
Names extracted from the Manchester & Salford Trades Directory, 1832.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Gorton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Gorton was a township in the parish of Manchester. Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.History
A description of Gorton in the 19th century.Details of the history of Gorton are provided by the Gorton and Openshaw Local history group.
Maps
View maps of Gorton and places within its boundaries.Occupations
A list of traders in Cross Street in the 1940s.Crossley Brothers built cars in Gorton.

