GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Levenshulme

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Select map to view larger area
Directories
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
History
Maps
Probate Records
Levenshulme, township with ry. sta., Manchester par., SE. Lancashire, 3 miles SE. of Manchester, 606 ac., pop. 3557; P.O., T.O.; is a local government district, and shares in the industries of Manchester.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Levenshulme.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Levenshulme area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Levenshulme area is Manchester.

Directories

Names extracted from the Manchester & Salford Trades Directory, 1832.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Levenshulme to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Levenshulme was a township in the parish of Manchester.

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

History

A description of Levenshulme in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Levenshulme and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Levenshulme was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03-Sep-2008 11:34:34 BST - Phil Stringer]