GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Newton Heath

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Select map to view larger area
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
History
Maps
Probate Records
Societies
Newton Heath is a township and ecclesiastical parish, within the parish and parliamentary borough, but not within the municipal boundary of Manchester, situated a mile and a half to the east of that city, in the union of Prestwich, and county court district of Manchester, rural deanery of Cheetham, and archdeaconry and diocese of Manchester.

from Kelly's Manchester Directory, 1873

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Newton Heath.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Newton Heath area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Newton Heath area is Manchester.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Newton Heath to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Newton Heath was a township in the parish of Manchester.

History

A description of Newton Heath in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Newton Heath and places within its boundaries.

Poor Houses, Poor Law

Newton Heath was part of the Prestwich Poor Law Union.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Newton Heath was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

The Manchester & Lancashire Family History Society.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03-Sep-2008 11:34:49 BST - Phil Stringer]