Over Darwen
|
|
|
DARWEN (Over), a town, a township, and three chapelries, in Blackburn parish, Lancashire. The town stands near the Blackburn and Bolton railway, 4 miles S of Blackburn; is a seat of manufacture; and has a post office under Blackburn, a r. station, a market-house, public baths, a mechanics' institute, a lecture-hall, a weekly market, and three annual fairs. The township comprises 5,010 acres. Real property, £39,356; of which £6,082 are in mines, £308 in quarries, and £253 in gas-works. Pop., 16,492. Houses, 2,925. There are great cotton-mills, print and bleach works, paper-works, foundries, and machine-works. The chapelries are St. James, Trinity, and St. John; the first two p. curacies, the third a vicarage. Value of St. James, £240;* of Trinity, £300;* of St. John, £150. Patron of the two first, the Vicar of Blackburn; of St. John, the Rev. P. Graham. St. James, church was built in 1829, Trinity in 1829, St. John's in 1864; the last at a cost of £8, 000. There are another church, four Independent chapels, a Baptist, a Wesleyan of 1865, two other Methodist, and a R. Catholic, a cemetery with three chapels of 1861, and seven public schools.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Darwen Library,Knott Street,
Darwen
BB3 3BU
Cemeteries
- St Paul, Baynes Street, Church of England, Hoddlesden
- St James, Winterton Road, Church of England
- St Peter (formerly Holy Trinity), Church Street, Church of England
- Cemetery Rd, Eastern Cemetery, Darwen
- Pole Lane, Independent, Darwen
- Lower Chapel, Chapels, Independent, Darwen
- Townsend later Ebenezer, (formerly Belgrave Sq, Ebenezer), Independent, Darwen
- Redearth Rd, Primitive Methodist, Darwen
- Belgrave Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Darwen
- Cemetery Rd, Western Cemetery, Darwen
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Over Darwen.Church History
Church Records
- Bolton Rd, Baptist, Darwen
- St Barnabas, Watery Lane, Church of England, Darwen
- St Cuthbert, Blackburn Road, Church of England, Darwen
- St Paul, Baynes Street, Church of England, Hoddlesden
- St George, Harwood Street, Church of England
- St James, Winterton Road, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Sough Rd, Church of England
- St Peter (formerly Holy Trinity), Church Street, Church of England
- Bolton Rd, Congregational, Darwen
- Edmund St, Congregational, Darwen
- Hollins Grove, Congregational, Darwen
- Pickup Bank Congregational Church, Johnson New Rd, Congregational, Hoddlesden
- Bottoms, Independent, Darwen
- Pole Lane, Independent, Darwen
- Lower Chapel, Chapels, Independent, Darwen
- Townsend later Ebenezer, (formerly Belgrave Sq, Ebenezer), Independent, Darwen
- Yates Chapel, Independent, Darwen
- Lark St, Spring Vale, Primitive Methodist, Darwen
- Park Rd, Primitive Methodist, Darwen
- Redearth Rd, Primitive Methodist, Darwen
- Watery Lane, Sandhills, Primitive Methodist, Darwen
- Sacred Heart and St Edward, Blackburn Road, Roman Catholic, Darwen
- St Joseph (originally St William), Bolton Road, Roman Catholic, Darwen
- Bolton Rd, Unitarian, Darwen
- Lynwood, Hollins Rd, United Methodist, Darwen
- Duckworth St, United Methodist Free Church, Darwen
- Belgrave Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Darwen
- Blackburn Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Darwen
- Bolton Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Darwen
- Railway Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Darwen
- Queen St, Wesleyan Methodist, Hoddlesden
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Over Darwen area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Over Darwen area is Blackburn.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Over Darwen to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Over Darwen was a chapelry and township in the parish of Blackburn.Historically, Darwen was (and still is) divided into two districts, originally known as Upper Darwen and Nether or Lower Darwen. Upper Darwen later became Over Darwen and finally just Darwen, while the other remains as Lower Darwen to this day.
In the 1600's the only place of worship in Upper Darwen was the chapelry of St. James', situated on high ground on the eastern flanks of the valley wherein flows the River Darwen and lies the town itself. As the separatist movement within the established church of the middle 1600's spread, Upper Darwen became quite a stronghold and a chapel was built, close to St. James', but in a position slightly lower down the hill. To avoid confusion (little did they realise!!) the two chapels became known as Higher Chapel (St. James') and Lower Chapel (the independent church). Both chapels lay within the Parish of Blackburn, with St. Mary the Virgin as the Parish Church. At that time, the two chapels were restricted to performing baptisms and burials, while marriages could only be performed at St. Mary's, Blackburn. Hence, records quote Darwen as part of the parish of Blackburn, although in reality the town was fiercely independent of it's bigger neighbour (and still is to this day, in spite of the recent re-organisations in local government which has combined the two into "Blackburn with Darwen" or, as the locals prefer, "Darwen with Blackburn"!).

