Pendlebury

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Select map to view larger area
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
History
Maps
Probate Records
PENDLEBURY, a village, a township, and two chapelries, in Eccles parish, Lancashire. The village stands on an eminence, near the Manchester and Bolton railway, the Bolton canal, and the river Irwell, ¾ of a mile S by E of Clifton Junction r. station, and 4 N W of Manchester; and has a post-office, under Manchester. The town-ship comprises 930 acres. Real property, £17,439; of which £3,795 are in mines. Pop. in 1851, 2,750; in 1861, 3,548. Houses, 672. There are numerous good residences; coal is extensively worked; and the cotton manufacture is carried on. The chapelries are P., St. John and P. Christchurch; and were constituted in respectively 1843 and 1861. Pop. in 1861, 2,610 and 3,170. Houses, 499 and 616. The livings are p. curacies in the diocese of Manchester. Value of St. John, £200; * of Christchurch, £219. Patrons of St. John, Trustees; of Christchurch, the Bishop of Manchester. The churches are stone structures; St. John's plain, Christchurch in the early English style. There are a Wesleyan chapel, and two national schools.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Salford library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Pendlebury.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pendlebury area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Pendlebury area is Salford.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Pendlebury to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Pendlebury was a township in the parish of Eccles.

History

A description of Pendlebury in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Pendlebury and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Pendlebury was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.