GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Scotforth

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Select map to view larger area
Civil Registration
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
Maps
Probate Records
SCOTFORTH, a village and a township in Lancaster parish, Lancashire. The village stands near the Lancaster and Preston railway, 1¾ mi1e S of Lancaster; and contains a number of genteel houses. The township includes the hamlet of Langthwaite, and comprises 2,764acres. Real property, £6,117; of which £30 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 693; in 1861, 955. Houses, 193. Greaves House and Parkfield are chief residences. There is a small endowed school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Scotforth.

Church History

St. Paul's church.

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Scotforth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Scotforth area is Lancaster.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Scotforth to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Scotforth was a township in the parish of Lancaster.

Maps

View maps of Scotforth and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Scotforth was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03-Sep-2008 11:35:11 BST - Phil Stringer]