Stretford

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Select map to view larger area
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
History
Maps
Probate Records
STRETFORD, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, on the S border of Lancashire. The township lies on the Manchester and Altrincham railway, 4 miles SW of Manchester; is in Manchester parish; includes Old Trafford chapelry; contains many handsome villa residences, a public hall, a temperance institute, the Manchester botanic garden, the asylum for the blind, the school for the deaf and dumb, two churches, five dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel of 1864, and a large national school; and has a r. station with telegraph, and a post-office, designated Stretford, Lancashire. Acres, 3,140. Real property, £42,938; of which £500 are in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 4,998; in 1861, 8,757. Houses, 1,668. The chapelry was constituted in 1854. Pop., 3,882. Houses, 791. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £405.* Patrons, the Dean and Chapter of M. The church was rebuilt in 1841. The sub-district comprises S. township and Flixton parish, and is in Barton-upon-Irwell district. Acres, 5,689. Pop., 10,807. Houses, 2,077.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Trafford Local studies library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Stretford.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Stretford area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Stretford area is Trafford.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Stretford to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Stretford was a township in the parish of Manchester.

History

A description of Stretford in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Stretford and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Stretford was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.