Tarbock

Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Gazetteers
Select map to view larger area
Historical Geography
History
Maps
Probate Records
TARBOCK, or Torbock, a township in Huyton parish, Lancashire; 3¼ miles S of Prescot. Acres, 2,447. Real property, £4,623. Pop., 626. Houses, 116. Extensive collieries were here, but are now nearly exhausted. There is a brewery.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Tarbock.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Tarbock area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Tarbock area is Knowsley.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Tarbock to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Tarbock was a township in the parish of Huyton.

History

Some information about the history of Tarbock.

Maps

View maps of Tarbock Green and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Tarbock was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.