Thornton
|
|
|
THORNTON, a chapelry and a township in Poulton-le-Fylde parish, Lancashire. The chapelry adjoins Fleetwood town and r. station, and has a post-office under Preston. Pop., 826. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £105. Patrons, Trustees. The church was built in 1835. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a free school. The township includes Fleetwood, and is noticed in our article on that town.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Poulton library.Cemeteries
- Christ Church, Meadows Ave, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Thornton.Church History
Church Records
- Cleveleys Christian Centre, Ritherham Ave, Assemblies of God, Cleveleys
- St George's Avenue, Baptist, Cleveleys
- Cumberland Chapel, North Drive, Christian Brethren, Cleveleys
- All Saints, North Drive, Church of England, Anchorsholme
- St Andrew, Rough Lea Rd, Church of England, Cleveleys
- St John the Evangelist, Stanah Road, Church of England, Little Thornton
- Christ Church, Meadows Ave, Church of England
- Leslie Avenue, Church of the Nazarene
- New Waters Christian Fellowship, Kensington Road, Elim, Cleveleys
- Kingdom Hall, Victoria Road West, Jehovah's Witness, Cleveleys
- Warren Drive, Latter Day Saints, Thornton Cleveleys
- North Drive, Methodist, Anchorsholme
- Cleveleys Park, West Drive, Methodist, Cleveleys
- Fleetwood Rd, Primitive Methodist
- St John Southworth, Northumberland Ave, Roman Catholic, Cleveleys
- St Teresa, St George's Avenue, Roman Catholic, Cleveleys
- Sacred Heart, Heys St, Roman Catholic
- St Nicholas Owen, Raikes Rd, Roman Catholic
- Beach Road, Spiritualist National Union, Cleveleys
- Rossall Rd, United Reformed
- Wignall Memorial, Victoria Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Thornton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Thornton area is Blackpool & Fylde.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Thornton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Thornton was a township in the parish of Poulton le Fylde.History
Notes on the history of Thornton Cleveleys.Maps
View maps of Thornton and places within its boundaries.A modern map showing Thornton in relation to other places in the Fylde.

