Ulverston
ULVERSTON - popularly Ooston - a town, a township, a parish, a sub-district, and a district, in Lancashire. The town stands on the Furness railway, near the influx of the river Leven to Morecambe bay, 5 miles NE of Dalton-in-Furness; belonged to the Saxon magnate Ulph or Ulpha; was given, by King Stephen, to Furness abbey; superseded Dalton, after the dissolution of monasteries, as practically the capital of Furness; is now a seat of petty sessions and county courts, and a polling place; publishes two weekly newspapers; carries on brewing, iron-founding, the manufacture of linens, checks, ginghams, and wood-hoops, and a considerable coasting trade; presents a modern, well built, cleanly appearance, with streets branching from a market place; and has a head post-office, a r. station with telegraph, two banking offices, two hotels, a court-house, a police station, a concert-hall built in 1850, a temperance hall, an iron market-cross of 1821, a parochial church restored in 1864, another church built in 1832, three dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, a subscription library, a people's library, an endowed school with £31 a year, two proprietary schools, a national school, a workhouse, charities £56, a weekly market on Thursday, five annual fairs, and races or flan-sports in Aug. Pop. in 1851, 6,433; in 1861, 6,630. Houses, 1,348. more ...John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office, Barrow.Cemeteries
- Priory Rd, Cemetery
- Holy Trinity, New Church Lane, Church of England
- St Mary, Church Walk, Church of England
- Soutergate, Independent
- Meeting House Lane, Society of Friends, Swarthmoor
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Ulverston.Church History
Church Records
- Fountain St, Baptist
- Free Grace, Quay St, Baptist
- Bible Christian, Swarthmoor
- Union St, Church of Christ
- St Jude, Cross Lane, Church of England, South Ulverston
- St Jude, North Lonsdale Rd, Church of England, South Ulverston
- Holy Trinity, New Church Lane, Church of England
- St Mary, Church Walk, Church of England
- Burlington St, Free Church of England
- Soutergate, Independent
- Bethel Chapel, Goad St, Primitive Methodist, Swarthmoor
- Union St, Primitive Methodist
- St Mary of Furness, Fountain St, Roman Catholic
- St Mary of Furness, Victoria Rd, Roman Catholic
- Burlington St, Salvation Army
- Meeting House Lane, Society of Friends, Swarthmoor
- Prince's St, Society of Friends
- Neville St, Wesleyan Methodist
- North Lonsdale Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ulverston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

