Wuerdle and Wardle
|
|
|
WARDLE, a chapelry, with a village, in Rochdale parish, Lancashire; 2¾ miles NNE of Rochdale r. station. It was constituted in 1859; and it has a post-office under Rochdale. Pop., 2,176. Houses, 439. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £200. Patron, the Vicar of Smallbridge. The church is modern and cruciform, and has a tower and spire. There are two dissenting chapels and a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Rochdale library.Cemeteries
- St Andrew, Arm Road, Church of England, Dearnley
- St John the Baptist, Halifax Road, Church of England, Smallbridge
- St James the Apostle, Ramsden Rd, Church of England
- Chapel Street, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Wuerdle and Wardle.Church History
Church Records
- St Andrew, Arm Road, Church of England, Dearnley
- St John the Baptist, Halifax Road, Church of England, Smallbridge
- St James the Apostle, Ramsden Rd, Church of England
- Wardle Village Church, Chapel Street, Ecumenical Partnership
- Halifax Rd, Independent, Smallbridge
- Wesley St, Primitive Methodist, Smallbridge
- United Methodist Free Church, Smallbridge
- Ramsden Rd, United Methodist Free Church, Water Grove
- Wesleyan Methodist, Smallbridge
- Chapel Street, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Wardle area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

