Addlethorpe
- The parish was in the Burgh sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
- We have an extract of a small portion of the 1901 surname index which you are welcome to review or add to.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1901 |
R.G. 13 / 3077 |
- The Anglican parish church on Old Church Road is dedicated to St. Nicholas and was built between 1360 and 1420.
- Here is a photograph of St. Nicholas Church supplied by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish registers date from 1564.
- The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Calcewaith and Candleshoe Deanery to make your search easier.
- A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built in 1837 but has been replaced by a new facility. For information and assistance in researching Methodist chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Burgh sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Addlethorpe is both a "scattered" village and a parish that lies in the Orby Marsh about a mile west of Ingoldmells and 3 miles north of Skegness off the A52 trunk road. Winthorpe parish is immediately to the south. The parish covers 2,006 acres, most of which is converted salt marsh.
If you are planning a visit:
- For folks on holiday, there is a caravan park near the village.
- For the enthusiast, Mill Lakes offers fishing.
- The village sports an indoor bowling facility and outside, there's golf.
- Visit our touring page for visitor services.
- The National Grid Reference is TF 5468.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name Addlethorpe is from the Old Scandinavian Eardwulf+thorp, or "hamlet of Eardwulf". It appeared in the 1086 Domesday Book as Arduluetorp.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
- In 1710, Samuel MOTTRAM of Addlethorpe Hall bequeathed a cottage and a half acre of land as a residence for two poor people of the parish.
- As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Spilsby Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
190 |
| 1811 |
192 |
| 1821 |
176 |
| 1831 |
175 |
| 1841 |
238 |
| 1851 |
288 |
| 1871 |
240 |
| 1881 |
246 |
| 1891 |
224 |
| 1911 |
213 |
| 1921 |
201 |
| 1951 |
295 |
| 1961 |
282 |
| 1991 |
320 |
- Circa 1871, children in Addlethorpe attended primary school at Ingoldmells.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find
help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 31-August-2007 - Louis R. Mills]