Ashby de la Launde
- The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Hibald (Hybald or Hibbald).
- Many parts of the church have been dated to the 13th and 14th centuries. Edward KINGE restored the church here in 1605. The church was rebuilt in the 1800s. The church only seats about 100 people.
- The area of this parish once belonged to the Knights Templer at Temple Bruer.
- A photograph of Saint Hibald's church is at the Wendy Parkinson English Church Photographs site.
- Here is a photograph of St. Hibald's Church supplied by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The parish register dates from 1695.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1695 to 1812 and Marriages from 1695 to 1809.
- The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
This village and parish is about six miles north of Sleaford. The parish is large, but the village is limited to the two sides of the road. The parish of Scopwick lies to the northeast and Temple Bruer to the northwest, with Ruskington parish to the south.
Ashby de la Launde village lies just north of a rivulet that feeds the River Witham. If you are planning a visit:
- The A15 arterial road passes to the west of the village, but the B1191 trunk road will take you to the west end of the village.
- See our touring page for more sources.
- The DE LE LAUNDE family acquired this parish in the 14th century, by marriage with the ASHBYs. They were later succeeded by the KINGE (or KING) family, who became the new Lords of the Manor.
- The gabled Hall was built in 1595 by Edward KINGE and has a lake near it.
- The national grid reference is TF 0455.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey "Explorer 272" map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1871 |
161 |
| 1891 |
167 |
| 1911 |
192 |
- There was a school here by 1900.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 19-October-2007 - Louis R. Mills]