Aubourn
- The parish was in the South West sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- There is a good transcript site for the 1861 census for the area around Auborn, compliments of Wendy Parkinson.
- The North Lincolnshire Library holds copies of the census returns for 1881.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- This section has been moved to a separate page due to size. It now includes two photographs of the St. Peter's Church. Click HERE.
- Anglican parish registers exist from 1749, but Bishop's transcripts go back to 1562.
- Parish registers are on file at the Society of Genealogists, covering 1562 - 1837.
- Parish marriages are in Boyd's Marriage Index, covering 1562 - 1837 and Pallot's Marriage Index, covering 1790 - 1837.
- The LFHS has published several indexes (marriage and burial) for the Graffoe Deanery to make your search easier.
- Parish marriages are in Boyd's Marriage Index, covering 1651 - 1837 and Pallot's Marriage Index, covering 1790 - 1837.
- A small Weslyean Methodist chapel was established about 1830 and completely rebuilt in 1845. For information on researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the South West sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Aubourn (sometimes "Auborn") is both an ancient village and parish. The parish is on the south side of the River Witham as it makes its way north and east to Lincoln. Several small streams flow northward into the Witham here, including the River Brant. The parish lies about 7 miles SSW of the city of Lincoln. The parish includes the hamlet of Marlborough which is one mile south of the village of Aubourn. The parish covers about 2,110 acres if you count the portion of Haddington parish that was ceeded to it for ecclesiastical purposes.
The small village of Aubourn lies at the junction of three roads and is just south of the A46 trunk road and west of the A15 trunk road. If you are planning a visit:
- In 1871, most of the land was owned by Ralph NEVILE, Esq., and Benjamin H. THOROLD, Esq. In 1913, Mr. G. H. NEVILE was the principal landowner.
- The parish did not have its own railway station, but residents used one at either Thorpe on the Hill on the Midland Railway or Harmston on the Great Northern Railway.
- Auburn Hall is made of red brick. In 1900 it was the residence of William LAMBE.
- The national grid reference is SK 9262.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer #272 map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The parish name derives from the Old English alor+burna, which means "stream where alder trees grow". In the 1086 Domesday Book, the name is similar to today's name, appearing as Aburne.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
- The name also appears in old records as "Aubrough".
- The following surnames are associated with the parish in 1871 (this list is not complete): BOOTH, CHALLANS, CHERRY, CLARKE, DALTON, DOWMAN, GRIMES, HAGUE, HESLAM, HICKSON, HOUGHTON, LAMBE, LONGMATE, MANSFORD, MARSDEN, PLANT, REYNOLDS, SLEIGHT, STUART, TAYLOR, WALTON, WIEGHTMAN and WILLAN.
- Care of the poor dates back to at least 1692 when Sir Christopher NEVILE donated £90 to purchase land.
- In 1746 a man named SUMMERS left an additional £18 a year.
- As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
179 |
| 1841 |
308 |
| 1871 |
246 |
| 1881 |
295 |
| 1891 |
243 |
| 1911 |
196 |
- A National School was built here by H. NEVILE, Esq. in 1858. It was attended by about 32 children.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 30-July-2008 - Louis R. Mills]