Bennington Grange
- The parish was in the Bennington sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The Family History Library has census records for this parish. See the table below.
Census Year |
Piece no. |
Film / Fiche |
| 1841 |
H.O. 107/615 |
0438756 |
| 1851 |
H.O. 107/2138 |
0087768 |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9/2481 |
0542977 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10/3544 |
0839759 |
| 1881 |
R.G. 11/337x |
1341807 |
| 1891 |
R.G. 12/2715 |
6097825 |
- There are no church records for Bennington Grange. See Long Bennington parish.
- The LFHS has published several marriage indexes for the Grantham Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Bennington sub-district of the Newark Registration District in Nottinghamshire.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.
Bennington Grange is not an ancient parish of Lincolnshire. The parish was established by Queen Victoria some time between 1841 and 1870, formerly an extra-parochial portion of Long Bennington parish. There wasn't really a central village as such, but a collection of farms and the ruins of a moated mansion or villa about two miles south of the village of Long Bennington. The parish covered about 270 acres. It has since been amalgamated with Long Bennington for civil purposes.
The moated ruins are reported to have been the farm house of the local Priory. If you are planning a visit:
The Bennington Grange moated site is listed as an Ancient Monument.
- In 1871, most of the land in the parish was owned by the Earl of Dysart, J. E. WELBY.
- In 1913, The Earl was still the principal landowner.
- The national grid reference is SK 8342.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer 247 or 260 map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name is from the Old English Beonna+ing+tun, meaning "Farmstead of Beonna".
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1871 |
6 |
| 1881 |
14 |
| 1891 |
9 |
| 1991 |
11 |
- There is no record of a school in Bennington Grange.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 7-November-2008 - Louis R. Mills]