Boothby Pagnell
- The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- In 1890, the district was re-organized and this parish allocated to the Grantham South sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3354 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Andrew.
- Some portions of the building date back to 1330.
- The church was restored in 1895.
- The church seats only about 120 people.
- There is a photograph of St. Andrew's Church on the Wendy Parkinson web site under her "Still more Lincolnshire churches".
- Here is a photo of St. Andrew's church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish registers date from 1559.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has published several indexes (marriage and burial) for the Beltisloe Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- In 1890, the district was re-organized and this parish allocated to the Grantham South sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.
This village and parish are about 6 miles southeast of Grantham and about 3 miles due east from Great Ponton. The parish covered about 1,800 acres.
The West Glen River runs past the east end of the village. If you are planning a visit:
- By automobile, the village lies astride the B1176 arterial road which runs from Stamford to Grantham.
- See our touring page for visitor services.
- Boothby Hall was the residence of Mrs. GIFFORD in 1900.
- Next to Boothby Hall was an ancient manor house of the late Norman period.
- The national grid reference is SK 9730.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
100 |
| 1841 |
132 |
| 1851 |
120 |
| 1861 |
112 |
| 1871 |
133 |
| 1891 |
129 |
| 1911 |
109 |
- A Public Elementary School was built in 1896 by Mrs. THOROLD. It could hold 70 children.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 11-May-2009 - Louis R. Mills]