Brant Broughton
- The parish was in the Bassingham sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1841 |
H.O. 107 / 615 |
| 1851 |
H.O. 107 / 2136 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Helen.
- The church is a large, Ancaster stone building.
- This chapel was rebuilt in 1812 and the remainder of the church was rebuilt in 1876 on the old foundations.
- The church seats about 300 persons.
- A photograph of Saint Helen's church is at the Wendy Parkingson Church Photo site.
- Here is a photo of Saint Helen's church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The parish register is said to date from 1710, but the Bishop's transcripts start in 1562.
- The Lincolnshire Archives has parish register entries for 1710 to 1891.
- Parish marriages are recorded in Boyd's Marriage Index for 1561 - 1837.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1710 to 1812 and Marriages from 1710 to 1812.
- The LFHS has published several indexes (marriage and burial) for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
- Although it is only for the CARTER family, you may want to check out our Parish Register Extract.
- There was a Society of Friends Meeting-house and burial ground here in the 1800's. The Wesleyan Methodists built a large chapel here in 1812, replacing it with a larger one in 1858. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
- We have a list of 1878 Trustees of The Wesleyan Chapel that might interest you.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Bassingham sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Brant Broughton, not to be confused with Broughton by Brigg, is a parish and village about 8 miles east of Newark on Trent and 12 miles south of Lincoln. To the north lies Carlton le Moorland parish, to the south is Stragglethorpe and to the west are Stapleford and Beckingham parishes. The parish covers about 2,990 acres. The farms called Broughton Clays, two miles west of the village, are part of the parish.
The village of Brant Broughton lies just north off of the A17 trunk road between Newark and Sleaford. The River Brant flows northward on the east side of the village. If you are planning a visit:
- The parish was in the Bassingham sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.
- Stukeley supposes that the Roman Station, Brigae, was here.
- The church contains a monument to Jamys de AUBENEY.
- Dr. William WARBURTON (1698 - 1779), Bishop of Gloucester, held this parish as his living (he was rector) and wrote here his "Divine Legation."
- In the 18th and 19th century, hunting was a major activity in Brant Broughton. Sir Richard SUTTON, baronet, who died in November 1855, was considered one of the greatest huntsmen of his time.
- The principal landowner in 1872 was Sir John SUTTON, baronet, who held over half the parish. The rest was held principally by Colonel REEVE, the Rev. Henry HOUSON, William ROLLINGSON, and the DUNN, MILLINGTON, WILSON families.
- In 1913, the principal landowner was the Earl of Lendesborough, followed by Christopher Henry MORLEY, Mr. Edwin Cartwright SNEATH, Mr. John ANDREWS, Mr. John ROBINSON and Mr. Robert KELSEY.
- The national grid reference is SK 9154.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name Broughton is common throughout England and it derives from the Old English broc+tun, or "farmstead by a brook". However, this Broughton derives from Old English burh+tun, or "fortified farmstead." It first appears in the 1086 Domesday Book as Burtune, and by 1250 the "Brant" had been prepended to make the name more unique: Brendebrocton. The name Brant could derive from either of two Old English words, Branta or Brent. The first is a personal name, the second means "Holy place" or "high place".
["A Dictionary of English Place-Names," A. D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1991]
- Locals pronounce the name as "Brant Brooton".
- In 1691, Randolph PATTINSON left a yearly rent-charge of 23 shillings for the poor.
- In 1736, William TYRWHITT laid out £50 to purchase land for the poor, called the Southing Close. This was then rented by other farmers and the income distributed to the poor.
- After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the NewarkPoor Law Union.
- In 1860, Sir John SUTTON had six cottages erected, each with a small garden attached. These were let to six poor deserving widows of the parish.
- Around 1900, a Mr. BUSH left a small charity for the poor of the parish.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
567 |
| 1841 |
650 |
| 1871 |
685 |
| 1881 |
679 |
| 1891 |
657 |
| 1911 |
531 |
- The Wesleyan Methodists build a school here in 1852. In 1913, average attendance was 40.
- An Anglican Church school was erected here in 1871, paid for by subscription. It became the Public Elementary school, enlarged in 1894 to hold 163 children. In 1913, average attendance was 76.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find
help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 6-November-2008 - Louis R. Mills]