Burwell
- The parish was in the Louth sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1901 |
R.G. 13 / 3084 |
- In the Norman era, there was a priory of Benedictine monks here, founded by John de HAY. It was affiliated with the abbey at Bordeaux.
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St Michael.
- The church is an ancient building of apparent Norman origin. The church was restored in 1911.
- The church seats 160.
- The vicarage was annexed to Muckton rectory in 1841. The curacy of Walmsgate was united with Burwell. Walmsgate no longer has a parish church of its own.
- The Diocese of Lincoln declared this church redundant in May, 1981.
- There is a photograph of the Anglican parish church on the Wendy Parkinson Church Photos web site, taken by Paul Fenwick.
- Here are two photos of the church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):


- Anglican parish registers exist from 1586. As of late 2004, the registers have not been deposited in the Lincs. Archives, nor have they been filmed by the LDS Family History Library. And copies of the Bishop's Transcripts have not been deposited either.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has published several Marriage indexes and a Burial index for the Louthesk Deanery to make your search easier.
- Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire places the parish in the rural deanery of Calcewaith No. 1.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Louth sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Burwell is a village and a parish in the Wold Hills of Lincolnshire, situated on the Spilsby road 5 miles southeast of Louth, and 3 miles west of Authorpe. The parish covers just over 2,000 acres.
If you are planning a visit, see:
- By automobile, take the A16 main road between Louth and Spilsby. The road passes thru the centre of Burwell village.
- See our touring page for visitor services.
- The Manor House stood in Burwell Park. The park covered some 200 acres.
- The national grid reference is TF 3579.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name Burwell is from the Old English burh+wella meaning "spring by the fort". In the 1086 Domesday book, the village name is given as Burwelle.
A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991.
- After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, this parish became part of the Louth Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
83 |
| 1831 |
181 |
| 1871 |
153 |
| 1891 |
164 |
| 1911 |
163 |
- A Public Elementary School was built in 1825 to serve Burwell and the nearby parishes of Walmsgate and Muckton. It was enlarged in 1896.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 13-August-2008 - Louis R. Mills]