Caenby (or Cannby)
- The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1841 |
H.O. 107 / 630 |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2363 |
| 1891 |
R.G. 12 / 2596 |
- There was a church here prior to 1168.
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Nicholas.
- The Church was restored in 1869.
- The Church seats only about 72.
- The church was declared redundant by the Diocese of Lincoln in March, 1975. It was gifted as a monument in October, 1982.
- Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish register dates from 1713.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1712 to 1812 and Marriages from 1712 to 1813.
- The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
- In the late 1800s, it was in the new Aslacoe Deanery.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Caenby is both a small village and a parish north of the city of Lincoln. Gainsborough lies 12 miles east, Normanby parish lies to the south and Glentham parish to the north. The parish covers over 1,400 acres.
Caenby village (also spelled Cannby) is small enough that the name does not appear on many small-scale (large area) maps. If you are planning a visit:
- Take the A15 north out of Lincoln to the A631. Take the A631 east and turn off at Glentham and head south. The area between Glentham and Normanby is Caenby parish.
- See our touring page for more sources.
- Caenby Hall was the home and seat of the MONCK family. It was later the home of the TOURNEY family. Henry VIII slept here.
- Caenby Hall was close to Ermine Street. Most of the building disappeared in the 19th century leaving just the garden walls.
- Caenby Hall is currently owned by the FOX family. They use the Hall to run their plant hire business, "Fox Plant".
- The national grid reference is TF 0089.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The parish was in the east division of the ancient Aslacoe Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
119 |
| 1831 |
176 |
| 1871 |
122 |
| 1881 |
129 |
| 1891 |
116 |
- Children of this parish attended school at Glentham.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 27-August-2008 - Louis R. Mills]