Claxby Pluckacre
- The parish was in the Tetford sub-district of the Horncastle Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The North Lincolnshire Library holds copies of the census returns for 1841 and 1881.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1861 |
RG 9 / 2369 |
| 1891 |
RG 12 / 2599 |
- The Anglican parish church was dedicated to St. Andrew.
- The church fell down on 1 August 1748 and was not rebuilt.
- See Moorby parish for parish registers. Register entries start in 1561.
- The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Horncastle Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Tetford sub-district of the Horncastle Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.
Five and a half miles southeast of Horncastle, Claxby Pluckacre is a small parish in the Wold hills, not even listed on many maps. Hameringham parish is to the north and Revesby parish to the south, with Miningsby parish to the east. There is a small lake at the southern end of the parish. The parish covered about 860 acres in 1913.
There is no village as such, just a scattering of homes. If you are planning a visit:
- The lake at the south end of the parish was a reservoir for the Boston Water Works by 1872.
- In 1842, Henry DYMOKE was the sole landowner and lord of the manor.
- In 1872 and 1882, J. B. STANHOPE was the sole landowner and lord of the manor.
- In 1900, Mrs. STANHOPE of Revesby Abbey was the sole landowner and lady of the manor.
- In 1913, Richard William STANHOPE of Revesby Abbey was the sole landowner and lord of the manor.
- The national grid reference is TF 3064.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer 273 map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The first part of the name likely derives from the Old Scandinavian klakkr+by, meaning "farmstead on a hill". The second part may derive from the Old Scandinavian Plucca+aecer, meaning "Plucca's plot of cultivated land".
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].
- White's 1842 Directory lists only William JOHNSON, John STEEPER and Samuel STEEPER, all farmers.
- White's 1872 Directory lists only Thomas BOURNE, James JOHNSON and William SHARPLEY, all farmers.
- White's 1882 Directory lists only Thomas BOURNE, James JOHNSON and Samuel ROBERTS, all farmers.
- Kelly's 1900 Directory lists only Thomas BOURNE, Isaac BRACKENBURY and Samuel ROBERTS, all farmers.
- Kelly's 1913 Directory lists only Isaac BRACKENBURY, Samuel ROBERTS and Edward WATTAM, all farmers.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
16 |
| 1831 |
25 |
| 1841 |
29 |
| 1871 |
51 |
| 1881 |
66 |
| 1891 |
63 |
| 1911 |
59 |
- The children of this parish attended school at Moorby.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 26-October-2007 - Louis R. Mills]