Dunsby
Note: There is a Dunsby hamlet in Braunswell parish, northwest of Sleaford.
- This parish was part of the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1851 |
H.O. 107 / 2095 |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2316 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
- All Saints Church has portions dating to the 13th Century, although the tower and most of the structure is from the 14th Century.
- Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican church parish registers exist from 1538.
- Dunsby is in the Aveland and Ness Deanery. You may wish to purchase some of the Deanery marriage indexes.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration beginning in July 1837.
Dunsby is both a town and a parish four miles northeast of Bourne. The A15 trunk road, formerly known as the "Great Road from London to Lincoln," passes down the west side of the parish. Hacconby parish lies to the south, Rippingale parish tlo the north. The South Forty Foot Drain completes the eastern border.
If you are planning a visit:
- The national grid reference is TF 1026.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name Dunsby is from the Old English Dun+by, for "farmstead of Dun(n)", appearing in the 1086 Domesday Book as Dunesbi.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1831 |
172 |
| 1871 |
200 |
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 1-August-2006 - Louis Mills]