East Halton
- The parish was in the Barton sub-district of the Glanford Brigg Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2402 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Peter. It was completely restored in 1869.
- The church seats about 280.
- There is a photograph of Saint Peter's church on the Wendy Parkinson Church Photos web site, taken by Paul Fenwick.
- Here is a photo of the St Peter's Church, taken by (and copyright of) Ron Cole.

- The Anglican parish registers exist from 1574.
- Those researching the ROBINSON surname will want to check our parish register extract. Your additions are welcome.
- The parish is in the Haverstoe Deanery, for which several indexes exist. The parish has also been in the Yarborough Deanery.
- The Wesleyan Methodists and Primitive Methodists both had chapels in the parish. There were Wesleyans in East Halton as early as 1791, and they built their chapel here in 1805. In 1814 they had 35 members. The Wesleyan chapel was replaced in 1889. The Primitive Methodists erected their chapel in 1878. Find out more at the History of Methodism in East Halton site and about the current Methodist ministry circuit in the Barton region. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Barton sub-district of the Glanford Brigg Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
This village and parish are on the south side of the Humber River, almost due south from Kingston Upon Hull. Seven and a half miles to the east is Barton upon Humber and down the coast is Grimsby. The parish to the northwest is Goxhill. To the south lies North Killingholme parish.
The village of East Halton lies about a mile from the Humber and can be reached by taking the A180 trunk road and turning north onto the A160 and turning off at South Killingholme. In White's 1872 Directory, the village is described as "widely-scattered". A small creek runs along the north edge of the parish out to the Humber, called Halton Skitter. The Skitter Sand silt bed runs along the river bank. The land is low and sometimes marshy, but the soil is rich and fertile. East Halton is a small parish, covering about 3,920 acres of land (3,321 in 1911).
Make sure you are researching the right place. There is a Halton East in North Yorkshire and a Halton in Lancaster and in other places around England. If you are planning a visit:
- Bricks were made at East Halton, perhaps as far back as Saxon times.
- Like many of the villages which lie on the south bank of the River Humber, there was a ferry service to the north bank, a twice weekly sailing across to Hull itself on Tuesdays and Fridays.
- Historically a farming and livestock-raising area, the 20th Century brought oil terminals and storage to the parish.
- The National Grid Reference for the village is TA 1319.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name Halton is common in England and comes from Old English halh+tun meaning "farmstead in a nook or corner". In the Domesday Book of 1086, the name appears as Haltune.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
- The parish was in the ancient Yarborough Wapentake in the Glanford district in the parts of Lindsey.
- The Common Lands were enclosed here around 1796.
- At the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, East Halton became part of the Glanford Brigg Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
350 |
| 1811 |
478 |
| 1821 |
468 |
| 1831 |
515 |
| 1841 |
627 |
| 1851 |
675 |
| 1861 |
727 |
| 1871 |
673 |
| 1881 |
647 |
| 1891 |
505 |
| 1901 |
493 |
| 1911 |
567 |
| 1921 |
662 |
| 1931 |
628 |
| 1941 |
N/A |
| 1951 |
573 |
| 1961 |
664 |
| 1971 |
566 |
| 1981 |
705 |
| 1991 |
617 |
| 2001 |
604 |
- There is no history of when the first school was built here, but a board school, built of brick, was erected in 1878. Currently, East Halton Primary School is a small school about five miles from Immingham with about 62 students.
- See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 22-May-2008 - Louis R. Mills]