Evedon
- The parish was in the Heckington sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- In 1891, after a district re-organization, this parish became part of the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3352 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Mary.
- The church was reduced in size in 1809 by taking down the north aisle.
- The church was restored in 1898.
- The church seats about 70 people.
- Here is a photo of St. Mary's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish register dates from 1562.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1729 to 1812 and Marriages from 1729 to 1812.
- The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Heckington sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- In 1891, after a district re-organization, this parish became part of the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.
Evedon is both a village and a parish, just 2 miles east of Sleaford. Kirkby la Thorpe parish is just to the south. The parish is on a rise above the River Slea and covers just over 1,300 acres.
If you are planning a visit:
- By automobile, take the A17 trunk road east out of Sleaford and turn north at Kirkby la Thorpe.
- See our touring page for more sources.
- The national grid reference is TF 0947.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey "Explorer 261" map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
86 |
| 1841 |
91 |
| 1871 |
71 |
| 1891 |
84 |
| 1911 |
78 |
- In 1840, the parish was entitled to send children to Sleaford Grammar School. Two children were allowed to go to Ewerby parish school.
- Later, the children of this parish attended schools in Ewerby and Kirkby-la-Thorpe.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 13-May-2009 - Louis R. Mills]