Fiskerton
- The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Clement of Rome. Some parts date from the 12th century.
- The church was restored in 1863.
- The church seats about 220 people.
- Here is a photo of St. Clement Church, taken by (and copyright of) Wendy Parkinson.

- Here is a photo of St. Clement of Rome Church, taken by (and copyright of) Ron Cole.

- And another view of the church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish register's entries date from 1539.
- The parish Bishop's Transcripts are missing for 1788-1792.
- The Lincolnshire Archives have register copies on fiche for bapt. 1539-1863; burials 1539-1906 and marriages 1539-1842.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1539 to 1812 and Marriages from 1539 to 1811.
- The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
- There was a Wesleyan Methodist chapel built here in 1839. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
This parish is just 5 miles east of Lincoln parish and city and south of Reepham parish. The parish covers just over 2,800 acres.
The River Witham flows past the south side of the village. If you are planning a visit:
- Check for bus service from the Linconshire Road Car Company of Lincoln.
- By automobile, take the A158 trunk road and follow the signs for Reepham. The village will be just south of Reepham.
- See our touring page for visitor services.
- Fiskerton had a station on the Great Northern Railway known as "Five Mile House".
- In 1826, the vicar had inscribed in the parish register: "In 1826 the driest Summer known for the last 20 years conduit water taken from Lincoln to Boston = no rain from April Fair 28th to the 26th of June, the river was deepened this summer, packets [small cargo vessels] went to Boston by the drain [man-made water course to drain the fenlands]: prayer for rain during Hay harvest." [Liz Davies]
- The national grid reference is TF 0472.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer #272 map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
- In 1676, Robert HODGSON started a charity with the gift of 10 acres of land, which, with later contributions by others, grew to about £24, which was distributed each week to the poor as bread.
- Robert PARKINSON left 12 Shillings per year as a dole which was given as bread to the poor each St. Thomas' Day.
- As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
270 |
| 1831 |
330 |
| 1891 |
403 |
| 1911 |
399 |
- In 1860, a National School was built, replacing an earlier school. This facility was enlarged in 1904 to hold 120 children.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 11-October-2007 - Louis R. Mills]