Fulstow
- Fulstow was part of the Tetney sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
- The Fulstow History Society has the local census returns for 1851, 1881 and 1891 and will do lookups.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1851 |
H.O. 107 / 2112 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Lawrence.
- The church was rebuilt in 1868.
- The church seats 160.
- There is a photograph of St. Lawrence Church on the Wendy Parkinson Church Photos web site, taken by Nicola Pike.
- Here are two photos of St. Lawrence Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):


- The Anglican church parish registers exist from 1586, although Bishop's transcripts go back to 1561.
- Marriage and Burial registers have been indexed for the Louthesk Deanery by the LFHS.
- Copies of the parish registers are held at the Lincolnshire Archives and cover baptisms 1586 - 1992, burials 1586 - 1890, and marriages 1586 - 1990, as well as the Bishop's transcripts covering 1561 - 1846.
- Fulstow parish is covered in the National Burial Index (NBI) for the years 1814 - 1890.
- Parish registers are NOT on file at the Society of Genealogists as of last report.
- We are beginning a Parish Register Extract, and your additions could make this a valuable tool.
- Nikki Pike has provided an extract of the Overseers records, 1837-1858, from the Parish chest. Most of these appear to be rate payers (tax payers).
- Some RICHARDSON burials appear on our Fulstow Monument Inscriptions list.
- Fulstow had chapels for the Wesleyan Methodists, the Primitive Methodists and the Wesleyan Reformers. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was part of the Tetney sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Fulstow is both a village and parish in the north of Lincolnshire. The parish lies 8 miles north of Louth and 10 miles south of Grimsby, and it covers about 2,850 acres of land. The parish of Ludborough lies to the west, Marshchapel parish to the east, just across the Louth Navigation Canal. The large Covenham Resevoir lies to the southeast. The parish covers just over 2,800 acres.
The village sits just east of the A16 trunk road and is best reached by turning east off the A16 at Ludborough.
If you are planning a visit, then:
- Visit the local Tourist Bureau in Louth.
- Many people like to stay at this trio of award winning cottages:
Waingrove Farm Country Cottages
Waingrove Farm,
Fulstow, Louth, LN11 0XQ
Tel: 01507 363704.
- For coach or bus service, check the Carlberry Coach website.
- Visit our touring page.
- White's Directory of 1872 reports that in 1630 "no fewer than 118 persons, who died of the 'sweating sickness,' were buried" at an artificial mound in Fulstow.
- For more on Fulstow's history, you may want to pick up a copy of "Fulstow, a Marsh Village," approx. £9.99 plus £2.50 p&p.
- The national grid reference is TF 3297.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- For a map of the parish, visit this Multimap site.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
A list of names from the Fulstow War Memorial [provided by Nikki Pike]. You'll note that the last five are from WWII:
- Pte 8661, Arthur West, 25, 26/05/1916, No known Grave, Prince of Wales Own (West Yorkshire Regiment)
- Pte. 178, George Sutton. Taylor, 20, 01/07/1916, Lincolnshire Regiment "A" Coy. 10th Bn.
- Pte. 15325, Tom Wattam, 20, 19/10/1916, Lincolnshire Regiment 2nd Bn
- Pte. 6804, Albert S Sherriff, 28, 02/12/1916, Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) 4th Bn.
- Pte. 241684, Herbert Harrison, 22, 24/02/1917, Lincolnshire Regiment 5th Bn
- Pte. 7423, Charles H Kirman, 32, 29/09/1917, 7th Batt Lincolns (He had already been with the 1st & 2nd Batt)
- Pte. 103257, Harold Pennell, 19, 23/11/1917, Machine Gun Corps (Inf) 119th Coy.
- Rifleman S/15683, Herbert E Green, 24, 25/03/1918, Rifle Brigade 16th Bn
- Pte. 505, George Marshall, 23, 23/09/1918, 7th Lincolnshire's
- Pte. DM2/179372, Charles Hyde, 25, 08/11/1918, Army Service Corps 880th M.T. Coy
- Trp. 4802281, John Stanley Maddison, 22, 21/12/1945, Royal Armoured Corps 13th/18th Royal Hussars
- Gunner 1144137, Tom Marshall, 22, 21/07/1944, Royal Artillery 68 Field Regt
- Pte. W/129269, Marjorie Sutton, 24, 11/05/1943, Aux. Territorial Service
- JOINED UP TOGETHER, Pte. W/18246, Viola Wells, 23, 11/05/1943, Aux. Territorial Service
- BROTHER & SISTER, Sgt. 2657028, Claude Marriott, 27, 21/09/1944, Glider Pilot Regiment, A.A.C. 2nd Wing
- The name Fulstow is from the Old English Fugol+stow, for "holy place or meeting place of a man called Fugol". In the 1086 Domesday Book it first appears as Fugelestou and in other sources as Fugelstow.
["A Dictionary of English Place-Names," A. D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1991]
- You may hear locals pronounce the name like "Full-sta".
- The Common Lands were enclosed here in 1819.
- Poor relief dates back to at least 1819 when Bull Meadow, 4 acres, was alloted to the poor.
- After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Louth Poorlaw Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
332 |
| 1831 |
448 |
| 1871 |
519 |
| 1881 |
565 |
| 1891 |
472 |
| 1991 |
527 |
- A National School was built here in 1866.
- The current primary school has a web site with no history. They are in Churchthorpe, Fulstow, Postcode: LN11 0XL, telephone: 01507 363226.
- The Fulstow History Society has the local school registers from 1929 - 1972 and will do lookups.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
The Fulstow History Society is the local genealogical society.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 18-December-2007 - Louis R. Mills]